• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

6700K high VCore out of the box

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

piedpilot

Hi guys.

I'm quite new to all this, having been tempted back into it by recent developments in VR. I've just built a PC based on an Asus Z170 Pro Gaming motherboard with a Skylake 6700K, and I'm now checking out what it can do. So far, everything is currently still at the factory settings (with the exception of updating the bios to the latest version)

In the bios, the default VCore is showing as 1.328V, which seems very high as a starting point. (I'm not really sure how the mobo arrives at that value?). When I run CPU-Z, it shows core VID fluctuating between about 1.26V and 1.34V at idle, but then during a stress test, the reading stabilises to around 1.26V.

Is all of this normal? Should I be worried about the high core voltage in the bios? Which numbers should I trust?

On a different, though possibly related issue (hence the reason for posting it as part of the same thread), my cpu temperature is currently around 30 degrees C at idle (25 degrees ambient), and increases to around 60 degrees during a stress test. Again, this seems high given that I have a Corsair H110 liquid cooler. I'm not sure if the chip is just running really hot or if my cooler is just not working effectively.

Many thanks

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Seems all fine to me. What does cpuz say your voltage on load is... 1.26V?

The board gets the stock voltage info from the cpu. It's called VID.

wingman99

When you run prime95 what do you see with CPU-Z for Core voltage (Vcore) not VID? If your using ASUS CPU-Z it has VID and not Core voltage.

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
You are aware that version of CPUz is over 3 years old, right? I'm not sure when that changed, but it isn't in 1.77. :)