• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

71 C and holding

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Quantrell

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
I have recently put a system together, and am having some odd readings from it. It consists of

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Soyo CK8 Dragon Plus
2 CORSAIR 512-3200C2 64X64 400MHZ 512MB CL2 DDR CMX
SEAGATE SERIAL ATA150 80GB ST380013AS 7200RPM 8MB 8.5MS
Abit Siluro GeForceFX 5600 DT AGP8X 256MB DDR
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2.0

I had heard some good stuff about Zalmans HD and VGA heatpipes, so I decided to try them out and also got a Zalman for the CPU. these are the specific ones

CPU : Zalman CNPS7000A-AlCu
VGA : Zalman ZM80C-HP Video Card Cooler with the Zalman ZMOP1 Noiseless Slim Fan
HD : Zalman ZM-2HC1 Heatpipe Hard Drive Cooler
North Bridge : Zalman ZMNB47J Northbridge/Chipset Cooler

When I first turned the comp on, I checked the temps in Bios. The casse temp was around 30 - 35 C, the CPU core temp was 50 - 52 C.

So the first thing I did when I booted up all the way was install MBM 5. Now MBM 5 is giving me similar case readings, but it was saying that the CPU core was at 70 C. So I restarted the comp to check bios out, it was now saying around 65 - 67 C.

I got to wondering if I was getting an accurate reading when I suddenly saw the CPU core temp drop to 55 C on MBM5 and hold there for about 15 secs, then right back up to 70 C.

So out of curiosity, I ran Sandra's burn in test on high and set it to run continuosly. I monitored it for about 90 minutes and the only thing the temp did was go up to 71 c and nothing more.

So basically, would you say that my MB is just giving the wrong temp and if so how would you suggest going about finding an accurate reading.

Edited to correct errors in system specs
 
Last edited:

clocker2

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Location
Mile High
You may want to visit the MBM5 homesite and see if there are known issues with your board.
There is a setup program specifically made for my Asus that makes sure that the app is reading the correct sensors for my board...maybe there is one for yours.
There is also a forum I believe.
Perhaps they could help you.
 
OP
Q

Quantrell

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
I have looked over MBM 5 site. I have not seen anything relating to my MB. I do know it is not on the list of tested boards, but my last one wasn't either and it seemed to work fine on it.

One of the things that has me puzzled is the way that the Bios is always reading around 65 -67 C all the time as well. It doesn't matter how long I have left it off, or whether I just had it idling or was stressing it before restarting.

What are the chances of my MB's sensor being wrong? And it that is the case what could I do if anything to try and get an accurate reading?
 

Korndog

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Location
California
probably nothing wrong with the sensor.. MBM might not support it since it's a new motherboard and all.., anyways those temps are scary..
 

05virulosity50

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2003
Location
SoCali
AMD Athlon 64 processors have overheat protection at 70C. So if your core temp got up that high in reality you would have been shutdown.
 
OP
Q

Quantrell

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
I reseated the HS 3 times now with no change. I am ordering some more AS as mine is kind of old. I suppose there is the chance that it has seperated.

I still have to question the sensor though. I have wathced it drop to 50 - 54 C and then jump back up atleast half a dozen times now. Also I have installed Speedfan and Hmonitor and they are giving me the exact same readings, 70 C for cpu and 33 C for case.

As an experiment I cut a hole in my panel opposite my HS and put a 120mm fan duct in it, so the air that the Zalman is using is coming from outside the case. This did not change the temp at all. So then I rigged up a 80mm fan on the outside of the duct to force air in. Still no change in the temp at all, except for the oddity of it dropping 15 - 20 C and then jumping back up.
 

clocker2

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Location
Mile High
Twigs said:
clocker2 what program are you talking about? asus probe?
No.
There is a program written by an outside source which tells MBM which sensors to read on my Asus A7N8X.
This app is available at the MBM website.