• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

8500 OEM install problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LiquidConfusion

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2002
Location
Bahrain for now...
Ive got a Dragon+ with 1024GB Ram XP 1900+ running winXP and im trying to get a Apollo Devil Monster II (8500) 250/250 to run properly the only way ive even got it to complete 3dmark @ defaults is to underclock the card to 230/250 with powerstrip using the 6052 drivers anyone else seen anything like this with this mobo?

HELP pls?



:mad:
 

Silversinksam

Moderator/ Silver Paste Taster©
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Location
Sunshine State, USA
When you installed the 8500, was it a clean instalation? I went from a GF2Ultra to my 8500 and when I formatted my hdd all my serious problems disapeared.

I did try Detonator Destroyer, but The format was my salvation.

You may want to try a different driver other than the '52'

I was using the '52' and although one of the fastest drivers, I noticed font issues and other anomolies. Before you format if at all try some of the other drivers.
 
OP
LiquidConfusion

LiquidConfusion

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2002
Location
Bahrain for now...
I reformatted and did a clean install when I installed. I have tried about 4 diffrent drivers so far the 6052s seem to be the best but if I try to run the 8500 at normal speeds I get vertical bars a few seconds into the first high detail on 3dmark2k1. this was the first set of drivers I could get to run it all...
 

CSaddict

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Location
CT, USA
This may be a stupid question but is your machine o/ced? my Radeon does strange stuff with my fsb up.
 
OP
LiquidConfusion

LiquidConfusion

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2002
Location
Bahrain for now...
it wasnt at the time but it is now It was either a voltage or cooling problem just put an exhaust fan right above and below the card and installed an enermax 430w ps either way it seems to have just disappeared.... I hope:beer: :D now its pullin 8400's default on 3dmark so far so good getting ready to try for stability on it