• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

8RDA3+ won't boot over 1.775 vCore

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ALo

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2002
Just got my 8RDA3+ yesterday.
Everything is fine!

Except that I can't boot it with a vCore greater than 1.775. :(

Is this a known issue from the 8RDA+?
Or is it a new "problem" on this version of the MB.

I guess the problem is with the bios or mayby the voltageregulator?
Any ideas for a solution?
 

OCn00b

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
8rda3+? I didn't think they were out yet. If you mean the 8rda+ It may be the chip's fault. What cpu do you have in it? Mine's running at 1.975v now and it boots fine. Well, there's the cold boot problem but that's no problem to get around. Maybe try holding the Insert key(right above the delete key) when you turn the computer on. I forget what it's called exactly but that's something epox put on the 8rda/+ that lets you get into the bios when you otherwise can't(barring something serious).
 

MoonWolf

Fold For 32!
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Location
Texas
When is the 8RDA3+ supposed to be coming out anyway? How much is it going to cost? I think it's time for an upgrade.
 
OP
A

ALo

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2002
The 8rda3+ is out for sure! :)
In Denmark that is.

I have 5 different xp1700+ DLT's. And since I wrote the last post, I think i learned a bit about the problem.

Tweaking the bios with this board is really hard.
It is very diffent from chip to chip.. Some times there is no problem adjusting the vCore, up to 1.9v. And other times it won't event show the boot screen even at 1.8v.
The best way to acchive high voltages for me, is to set the speed eg. [email protected] and then afterwords change the vcore to 1.9v. Othervise it doesn't seem to be done.
One chip can do 1.9v and other can't do 1.8v.
Yes I am confused :)

I haven't figgured out excatly what makes the diffence, I will return when I got the clue.
 
OP
A

ALo

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2002
And BTW I am not a N00B.. :)
The board is prized as the 8RGA+ here.
 
OP
A

ALo

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2002
hehe got it, my fault!! :)
I removed my shim, it was touching some bridges! :/
Great board, im starting to love it! :)
 

OCn00b

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
I've heard the DLT3C's hate high vcores. That may be the problem but I'm not positive.


*edit

nevermind :)
 

Blooz1

Registered
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Location
Ct.
WHOO! Runnin' DLT's at 1.9V? Not a wise move for the long haul....