• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

9500NP arrived and is now a 9700

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GravY

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Location
Michigan
3.3inf memory

9500np2.jpg

9500np1.jpg


No flaws or artifacts with softmod, everything looks good..

3dmark03 stock 9500 - 2800
3dmark03 with softmod at stock speeds - 4383

Current OC 370/310 - 5630

saw a few pops on test 3, have a new cooler and ramsinks ready to go, just need time to install them, then hopefully I can go further..

Newegg.. 149.00
 

q149

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Location
Japan
I wish i was lucky. I probably had the most unsuccessful mod in history of 9500 > 9700 yesterday. My card looks the exact same but 3.0ns Inf memory.. i think we ordered them on the same day too.
 
OP
GravY

GravY

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Location
Michigan
Yep its a sapphire card..

just upgraded the fan, man the one that was on there was a POS!..

will see if I can get higher than 370 with new fan, I could go above before but would get many graphical glitches..

Ok, got to 400mhz on the core, but I get little tiny buzzing dots in the 2nd 3rd and 4th tests.. they seem like Ram artifacts, hmmm.. I wonder if the core is too fast for the ram at this point..? or just very well could be getting maxed out, It will even go higher but there is no point cause of the artifacting..

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/gravy/thermal.jpg

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/gravy/gpu.jpg

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/gravy/cooler1.jpg

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/gravy/cooler2.jpg
 
Last edited:

Oni

Oni-ni-Kanab;, Ninja Hippo eater Moderator
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Location
St. Catharines, Ontario Canada
I find that the RAM maxes out on these cards before the core does. w/ a little more voltage, the RAM can catch up, but my balls aren't that big ($575 CAD for a 9700 pro)
 

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
Got a question.... is that cooler the stock one? or did you put that on yourself. it seems like the Black one that was on the old 9500's do a much better cooling job than that... on my 9500 np (softmod dont work) i can get 418/310 w/ the black stock cooler
 

Vengeance

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Location
Rage3D
q149 said:
I wish i was lucky. I probably had the most unsuccessful mod in history of 9500 > 9700 yesterday. My card looks the exact same but 3.0ns Inf memory.. i think we ordered them on the same day too.

Man I had that ram on my 9500 Pro. And after I flashed my bios if I went any higher than 10 MHz on my ram I would get artifacs :mad:
 
OP
GravY

GravY

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Location
Michigan
Emericana said:
Got a question.... is that cooler the stock one? or did you put that on yourself. it seems like the Black one that was on the old 9500's do a much better cooling job than that... on my 9500 np (softmod dont work) i can get 418/310 w/ the black stock cooler

The gold hsf is the stock cooler..
 

AMD900

Member
Joined
May 24, 2002
Location
NC
i got the black h/s and the soft mod dint work can i send it back and get a new? or they fix the one i got and send it back?
 

Zash

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Location
My PC
So this softmod thing works eh? I've heard good results from the Resistor mod but haven't heard much of the softmod. Could you guys tell me how to do the software mod? I'd like to give it a try (mine is a Sapphire Radeon 9500 with the black H/F). Thanks a bunch.