• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

9700NP or 9700 Pro?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

moho

I wanna title tooo !
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Location
1337 Leet Street , CO 1337
9700NP or 9700 Pro? HELP!

i boought this off a friend and cant tell if it is pro or not, got 1700 3d05 marks, and 4400 3d03 marks, in the device manager, it says RADEON 9700 PRO FAMILY. the clocks are at 270/260 in ATItool, in ati's website, it came from a dell.
help? thanks!
EDIT: I just tried o/cing it from memory 262 to 265 i ATItool, and i start to artifact like crazey?
anyone know whats going on?
 
Last edited:

f00t

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
sounds like a 9700np to me. a 9700pro stock speeds are 325/310 where a 9700np stock speeds are 275/275.

you say that it came from a dell. i think they call their 9700's something like 9700xt or something similar to that and are underclocked 9700np's
 

cooter

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
what ram does it have on it, if it is samsung you can oc it to at least pro speeds.
 
OP
moho

moho

I wanna title tooo !
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Location
1337 Leet Street , CO 1337
downloaded the DELL 9700 TX r300 bios, but i didnt know if that was the right bios. Flashed, it my ATI 102 p/n is 1029421901, i dont know still if it is a pro or not, i havent tried the other bioses yet, but maybe ;),

just tried o/cing it and i get artifacts like crazy in a jump of only 3 Mhz.
is this normal?
 
Last edited:

jokers_greg

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Location
Mississauga, Ontario
i had the same problem. Its called the radeon 9700 TX. I suggest flashing it with a pro BIOS (keep in mind i suggest better than stock cooling when flashing or ocing, that card gets hot fast)
 

Z YA LTR

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Location
TX
Sounds like a 9700np flashed with a clock modded 9700 pro bios. On my 9700np it reads as a 9500/9700 family.

--Josh
 

painterh

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2004
re: 9700 pro

I too have one of those cards, called a 9700tx. I flashed mine with a 9700pro bios , but even though it showed uo in ati tool as a 9700pro the defaults were still 270/263. I just finished re-flashing with a bios from www.TechPowerup.com's Ati bios collection, (I used a modded bios which gave it defaults of 324/310. However it still can't get the memory over about 280 without getting artifacts. I need to spring for some serious cooling and see if the memory will go a little higher. I am curently running it at 398/276. The bios I used was for infineon chips (3.3ns)
 

painterh

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2004
P.S. I also tried the latest omega drivers (2.62) and they seem to make it a little more stable when overclocked.