• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A few questions on oc'ing the MSI GTX 970 4G.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Frenzyy

Hi everyone, I created an account on this forum as I'm looking for some help when it comes to overclocking my cpu as well as gpu (further). I'm not a pro or anything so please don't be too harsh if I don't know something or have done something wrong.
Without wasting anymore of your time, let's get to my setup as it is probably the most important part.
CPU: i5 2500k 3.3Ghz OC @ 4.4Ghz however I have a separate topic when it comes to the cpu as I'm trying to go even further. Here is the link if you would like to also help there: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/...-on-oc-ing-the-i5-2500k?p=7791030#post7791030)
Cooler: Be Quiet! Pure Rock 210
GPU: MSI GTX 970 4G- So far I got the memory to 2003, core clock to 1253, boost clock 1393. The voltage while testing in Heaven 4.0 was on 1.218 (Which I think is a bit odd as it seems a bit higher than what other people have? Especially since I was not tweaking it at all and they were like that from the start while running the Heaven 4.0 Extreme. I'm pretty sure anyway.) The temps were at around 60 degrees and the power consumption didn't go over 90%.
Mobo: AsRock P67 Pro 3
RAM: 2x4GB RipjawsX 1600 CL9
PSU: OCZ 650W

If you need any more information about my setup then I'm more than happy to answer your questions as well as if you want me to do any other tests a part from Heaven 4.0 on the Extreme preset then again, I'm more than happy to do so. Btw. I was using the GPU Z in order to see all the exact values while testing and the MSI Afterburner to do the actual oc.
Now the questions: