• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A new PC problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ElimGarak

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Location
Salt Lake City
Got my dream PC (except for the cooling part, which I wanted to be a custom H2O loop, but I made do with an AIO CPU cooler and an EVGA hybrid). I powered it up for the first time, and it powered for 1 second, then turned off, then started again for 1 second, and then shut off................

I have only the CPU and the VGA connected (no RAM, HDD nor periph, and the VGA is connected otherwise I wouldn't be able to see anything as it POSTS.) I disconnected all of the power stuff to the mobo and reconnected. Any ideas?

Mobo - Gigabyte Phoenix X99
CPU - X99 Intel 6850
PSU - EVGA 1200 Platinum

Thanks for your help

Edit to add - just read another thread about almost the same problem- none of my standoffs are shorting, nor do I have extra. I don't really wanna pull the CPU to check pins, but I suppose I oughta....
 
Last edited:
OP
E

ElimGarak

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Location
Salt Lake City
I'll check the standoffs, but I filled all of them that I put in. I guess I'll haveta pull the PSU from this PC and check it with the new stuff.

I pulled the CPU, and it looks fine.

I suppose I'll power down now.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
I'll check the standoffs, but I filled all of them that I put in. I guess I'll haveta pull the PSU from this PC and check it with the new stuff.

I pulled the CPU, and it looks fine.

I suppose I'll power down now.

I hope that sequence isn't literal and that you also powered down before you pulled the CPU.
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
I notice in your first post you say you have no RAM installed. That's almost 100% your problem.
I also hope you didn't pull the CPU while the machine was on (or plugged in for that matter). That would be bad..
 

Suppressor1137

Member
Joined
May 4, 2011
PC wont boot without RAM installed. As a rule of thumb, I don't boot new pc's without all of the components necessary for normal operation. This can exclude a video card if your processor has an igp embedded in it, but nothing else can be omitted.

I would test the PSU with a multi-meter and the paper clip trick*Orange lead and any black lead in most cases, sometimes brown or green instead of orange. There is only one of that color on the psu main power connector, but you can refer to the manufacturers specifications if you are unsure.* Do NOT touch the paperclip when the psu is live, it is essentially a bare wire.

Here is a guide you can refer to, and our helpful community will confirm the details. https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-manually-test-a-power-supply-with-a-multimeter-2626158
 
OP
E

ElimGarak

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Location
Salt Lake City
Turns out it was the RAM not being installed, even though the documentation had said that BIOS could be updated without it. Also, fortunately, I am experienced enough that I knew to power down the old PC, and THEN pull the PSU.

Thanks for your help, guys. It's appreciated.
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
I'm pretty sure that what they mean in the manual is that you can connect a USB thumb drive with an updated bios on it, press a button on the board, and it will update headlessly.