• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A7M266 Asus Mobo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mojo

Registered
What do you guys think of this Mobo?? Reliable??? good??? performance wise and stuff. Please give feedback thanks..
I'm thinking of getting a 266FSB mobo with DDR support.

I actually went out and bought one of these suckers yesterday to go with my axia 1 gig tbird and ddr ram. Well to cut a long story short, i crushed the core on the tbird.. then after changing cpu to a duron 800, couldnt get the bastard stable in windows last night.

I'm a newbie to this whole amd scene (previously only intel).. erm whats the deal with via 4n1 drivers? am i going to need them (or others) to use with this board?

Help! ive got (what looks like) a great system but can't get it going properly :(

Btw, the a7m266 i got doesn't have the dipswitches to change the multiplier - but from what i've read in forums, its a simple matter of soldering on a 5-bit dipswitch to the holes already in the board (changing resistors is not necessary).

I don't think you need the VIA drivers because of the one AMD mobo chip. If you needed them, they'd be on a CD which would come with the board most likely-- they did on my Asus.

Thats kinda what I thought.

Strangely enough though, on the cd that came with it, there were some 3 in 1 drivers, for use with the A7M?! confuses the hell outta me. Would you need via drivers if it uses a Via southbridge?

All I've done to this system is formatted the drive, installed Win2k, installed razer boomslang drivers, and v6.31 drivers for a GF2. There shouldn't be anything more to it right? Cuz right now I cant install sandra without crashes (application shut down or blue screens) or play any games on it..