• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A7V FSB Overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Vector

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2000
Location
Baton Rouge, LA
I have an Asus rev1.02 currently running a 700t-bird @ 867MHz
I feel the need for speed, so I decided to get a 1.1GHz thunderbird and clock it @ 1.2+
The only problem is that I want to do this via fsb manipulation, not multipliers, because of the small (10% or so) memory performance boost I'll get from it...(my system gets phenomenal memory performance as it is)
I was just wondering if anyone out there has had any success in getting their--I hear that the KT133 doesn't like to go past about 110MHz fsb...
Any experiences that any of you have had with getting the fsb past 110 would be greatly appreciated.
 

Big Mike

Senior Head of Import Performance
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
Honest opinion and personal experience:
with the A7v 110 MHZ is a bit flaky, anything higher is probably not going to work. As for a 1.1 to 1.2, I wouldn't waste my money on that, you wont get any performance increase, id look at doing stuff like the voltage mod and water cooling to beat some more speed out of your current tbird and wait for some new REALLY fast chips. At the speed levels we've reached the only thing "fun" is beating on the chip to get a higher OC, noones really utilizing all the stupid large amounts of CPU power. If you want your games or 3d apps to go faster the main bottleneck is your video card not your CPU, buying a new CPU only nets significant improvements in benchmark scores, lol.
 
OP
Vector

Vector

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2000
Location
Baton Rouge, LA
thanks for your input, but I'm still looking at the 1.1GHz chip...
I realize that nothing right now can take advantage of all that cpu power, but like i said: "I feel the need for speed"
I figure that after about 1.2GHz, the effects of the memory bottleneck of the KT133 will have a large impact on performance...I'm waiting until there are at least 1.7GHz AMD processors out there before I switch to DDR and revamp my entire system--the performance increase right now is negligible...
As for cooling, I have an Alpha Pal6035 with a delta fan and six other case fans, so my system runs extremely cool--even with the 1.85v core voltage I am currently using...
I basically want to get and clock a 1.1 to 1.2 for the small (but I'm thinking greatly noticeable) increase in memory bandwith
 

Big Mike

Senior Head of Import Performance
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
If memory bandwidth is your cup of tea id hang on till the KT133A boards come out and use one of those on your current 'bird, as soon as one comes out that is adjustable you can run the bird from 100 to 133 mhz, from what ive read if you drop your multiplier a few steps you can nail 133 no problem with a 100 chip.
 
OP
Vector

Vector

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2000
Location
Baton Rouge, LA
The KT133A's sound nice for someone who wants to build a new system, but I can't see spending that much money for a motherboard that will give me a small overall increase in system performance...I'll get much more of an increase out of a new processor...

My next major system change is going to be a DDR platform with probably a 1.7 processor or so and 333MHz DDR when, and if, it comes out...

No more motherboards until then...
thanks for the advice though...
and, again, if anyone has tips on getting the fsb over 110 on an A7V, or KT133 chipset for that matter, please reply
 

Nagorak

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Big Mike (Dec 26, 2000 12:36 p.m.):
If memory bandwidth is your cup of tea id hang on till the KT133A boards come out and use one of those on your current 'bird, as soon as one comes out that is adjustable you can run the bird from 100 to 133 mhz, from what ive read if you drop your multiplier a few steps you can nail 133 no problem with a 100 chip.

Hell, just set the FSB up to 150 MHz if you have some high speed memory and then crank down the multiplier in order to get your processor to run!

I'd suggest just TRYING different settings on the board. No two CPUs, motherboard chips, or memory chips are exactly identical. Just try running at 110 MHz FSB. If it works, great, otherwise drop down to 107 or 105. One thing though, the new A7V BIOS does not let you set the system to Optimal performance (4x interleve, etc) when you set the FSB over 103 MHz in the BIOS. Maybe if you do it by multiplier you can.