• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Abit fan connections

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DIG

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
How many fan hook-ups does the Abit KT7A-Raid have? I went to their site, but couldn't find it.
 
OP
D

DIG

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
Follow-up question:
Does the BIOS show four separate readings of each fan's speed? Thanx
 
OP
D

DIG

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
Strange....
This makes my next question a little bit more difficult since I can't monitor RPMs. What is the proper order (if there is one) to integrate a fan with a rheostat and a potentiometer. My hypo. would be [header > rheostat > potent. > fan] What kind of splicing is involved when adapting a 3 pin connector to a 2 line device? Thanx
 

TT120

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2001
Location
Sacramento, CA.
DIG (Mar 30, 2001 01:21 p.m.):
Strange....
This makes my next question a little bit more difficult since I can't monitor RPMs. What is the proper order (if there is one) to integrate a fan with a rheostat and a potentiometer. My hypo. would be [header > rheostat > potent. > fan] What kind of splicing is involved when adapting a 3 pin connector to a 2 line device? Thanx
I think you have the order right although I dont understand why you want a potentiometer on there. I would have to defer to the more knowlegable in this group for that answer. The 3rd wire on a fan is just for rpm's and to hook it to a 2 wire system, dont use the rpm wire (usually the yellow one) just hook up the red and black wires.
 

SickBoy

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Minneapolis, MN
You don't need a rheostat AND a potentiometer- just one or the other. I have detailed plans for building a universal 3 wire fan controller using a rheostat - if you want them I can email them. It's hard to explain how to do it without pics.

SickBoy
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Potentiometers and Rheostats are both resistors that you can vary the total resistance of. The Rheostat typically uses a spiral of nichrome (resistive) wire and a Potentiometer typically uses a line of carbon (also resistive). The difference is that by using nicrome wire, the rheostat can handle much more wattage than a simple carbon trace. The sacrifice is the rheostat value tends to jump in greater increments, whereas the potentiometer is more smooth due to the closer spacing of the carbon particles. As already mentioned in a previous post, you would not use both. It is redundant and the wattage of the pot will be exceeded long before the rheostat, causing the pot to burn open. Nuff said...

Hoot
 

CoopertownBob

Registered
Joined
Mar 5, 2001
jim (Apr 02, 2001 09:56 a.m.):
i have the KT7a and i want to connect a Delta .48 amp
fan to it do u think i will blow the header

I'm running a Delta Black Label on mine with no problems. 7000RPM's of sweet song. (others call it a loud noise ;-) )
 
OP
D

DIG

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
SickBoy (Apr 02, 2001 12:50 p.m.):
You don't need a rheostat AND a potentiometer- just one or the other. I have detailed plans for building a universal 3 wire fan controller using a rheostat - if you want them I can email them. It's hard to explain how to do it without pics.

SickBoy

I wasn't think when I put "rheo AND pot"! I would appreciate that email...[[email protected]]. Also, has anyone had experience with adding fans that automatically turn-on when a specified temperature is reached? Thanx
 
OP
D

DIG

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
DIG (Apr 03, 2001 05:58 p.m.):
SickBoy (Apr 02, 2001 12:50 p.m.):
You don't need a rheostat AND a potentiometer- just one or the other. I have detailed plans for building a universal 3 wire fan controller using a rheostat - if you want them I can email them. It's hard to explain how to do it without pics.

SickBoy

I wasn't think when I put "rheo AND pot"! I would appreciate that email...[[email protected]]. Also, has anyone had experience with adding fans that automatically turn-on when a specified temperature is reached? Thanx
 

Ghettoweasel

Registered
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
I was informed by Paul Howland, (unoffical Abit site) that each header is rated @ 6W each! Damn, good job Abit.