• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Abit Kt7a Or Iwill kk266?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MidnightClocker

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2001
Which one Is better for overclocking?
Which one has less problems?
Which one is better set for the new technology?
Which one is faster?
Which one do you recomend?
Does the Iwill support pc133 sdram along with the ddr ram?
 

sparks

Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
The only thing I can see wrong with the kk266 is the same as with the early abit motherboards...they have a riser for 2 more usb ports but you don't get them. If you need them you will have to try and find one with correct pin outs and socket size.
The newer Abits do come with the additional cable.
Not a big deal but it does show that abit is listening to us bitchers :)

They both seem great and I am in the same boat as you..which one
prices are about the same.
 

sparks

Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
ON you question. I talked to 2 people at work today who have abit kt7a's
one is raid and "both" advised me against getting them. Both have problems.
So I am looking at the KK266 again. I just feel the raid is a little high price but then what isn't :)

Anyone having problems with this and 1.2 G chips, that seems to be the problem now, maybe the new bios will fix whatever it is.

Did anyone try to put a blue orb on the northbridge yet?

Yo, if you read this how is the bios fix going?

man every board has some problems, abit, iwill and asus are all having things going wrong, wonder if this is a VIA problem?

WWEEEEEEE are having fun now :D
 
OP
M

MidnightClocker

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2001
sparks (Mar 02, 2001 09:47 p.m.):
ON you question. I talked to 2 people at work today who have abit kt7a's
one is raid and "both" advised me against getting them. Both have problems.
So I am looking at the KK266 again. I just feel the raid is a little high price but then what isn't :)

Anyone having problems with this and 1.2 G chips, that seems to be the problem now, maybe the new bios will fix whatever it is.

Did anyone try to put a blue orb on the northbridge yet?

Yo, if you read this how is the bios fix going?

man every board has some problems, abit, iwill and asus are all having things going wrong, wonder if this is a VIA problem?

WWEEEEEEE are having fun now :D

What Kind of problems did they have?
 

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
I ended up going with the KK266 for a couple reasons. I like the layout of the board for one, and I found Joe's advice on the front page compelling as well. He found it to be more stable at higher FSB.

Since they are both 133 A boards they are both likely to be finicky with some configurations.

You might note that Abit has been removed from AMDs official list but I don't see the Iwill on there either.

Good luck with whatever you decide.