• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

After installing the 4/1 driver for my iwillkk266r it starts to crash

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PimpDaddy

Registered
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
everything was working fine but i could not overclock it very much so of course i asked for help and you guys gave it to me. you said to install the new 4/1 drivers so i did now my pc only stays running for about 20 min or so then crash if i just let it sit there it will take a lot longer befor it crashes. any tips
 

surlyjoe

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2000
Location
far west
go back ,run the 4in1 again and click remove on the install screen for each driver,the only reinstall the AGP and INF drivers ,then check your agp settings and IRQ routing for troubles
 
OP
P

PimpDaddy

Registered
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
looks like i got it working now at 6.5x140 at about 44c full load thx for help
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
PimpDaddy (Mar 04, 2001 03:10 p.m.):
looks like i got it working now at 6.5x140 at about 44c full load thx for help

I guess you can change your signature then ;-)

Also sometimes going into Safe Mode Windows and removing devices that you no longer use frees up some resources

Yo
 
OP
P

PimpDaddy

Registered
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
I was just checking this post when it freezed up on me again not sure why it does but it does not crash just freezes any help there?
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2001
VIA Drivers suck in general. Install the IRQ routing fix if your on Win98 and hope that the MS Drivers work for you.

Own experience: GA6VXE7+/C2700/Win98se installed only IRQ routing fix, all the others, any combination gives me random lockups.
MSI K7T Pro 2-A/Tbird1g/Win2k all combinations suck so far unless someone can give me soem pointers (UDMA needed but crashes too much with the VIA drivers, PIO Suck)
 

MiracleMan

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2000
Location
Brasil
Hmm, did ya tried with the original 4in1 drivers (that in the mobo cd)? Usually it works well. If not, try an older 4in1, like 4.24. Or buy a better mobo!!! >(
Yiakes! Holdon, just kidding!!!
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
PimpDaddy (Mar 04, 2001 08:14 p.m.):
I was just checking this post when it freezed up on me again not sure why it does but it does not crash just freezes any help there?

What voltage are you using? Have you tried upping it by 0.025 or 0.05?
 
OP
P

PimpDaddy

Registered
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
I am using 1.85 volts also dma is already turned off for cdrom. it has not crashed in 20 hours but i also rolled it back some . I forgot what it is at but i think it is at 6.5x137 or close for my 800 is at 878 now


on old mobo i over clocked it to 969 with 9.5x103 i think
is the higher fbs better even if i lose over 100 mhz???
or should i turn down the fbs and add more mult?
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
PimpDaddy (Mar 05, 2001 06:14 p.m.):
I am using 1.85 volts also dma is already turned off for cdrom. it has not crashed in 20 hours but i also rolled it back some . I forgot what it is at but i think it is at 6.5x137 or close for my 800 is at 878 now


on old mobo i over clocked it to 969 with 9.5x103 i think
is the higher fbs better even if i lose over 100 mhz???
or should i turn down the fbs and add more mult?

I don't get it. This system should run at least around 930. Did you try running ram at cas 3 also did you try 9.5X100 or so on the IWill?