• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AHHH, HELP! I'm thinking that I might switch to Intel's 3GHz!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NeoN068

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
I've used AMD for as long as I can remember. I love AMD! If I could, I would have *EDITED FOR "G" RATED FORUMS* every night. haha Anyways... I am planning to buy a 2800+ soon BUT with Intel's 3.06GHz kickin' the 2800+ butt, I might get an Intel. I don't want to leave AMD but the speed and overclockablity looks VERY NICE for the Intel's chip. Please give me some reasons why I shouldn't switch. What should I do???
 

IR1

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Location
San Jose, California
Go ahead switch. If you got the money and a real need for something that powerfull I guess you should jump ship. Though im sure AMD wont let intel have the lead for to long.

What do you constitute a butt kicking as?
 

TinMan

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
wasnt the 3GHz chip ment to be almost the limit of the current intel core, leaving little room to overclock?

And since when was the Prescot core going to have the 166fsb?, I thought that was AMDs trick?
 

Cheesy Peas

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Location
Rotherham,UK
the intel core goes past 4.something GHz, they did a demo at a recent show (idf2002 or something)

Ide syat with AMD and wait for what they come up with, im sure u can resist the temptation for a showt while, with the Hamer coming out soon, and the nforce2 boards
 

cmcquistion

IT Director Senior
Joined
Oct 15, 2001
Location
Tennessee
I switched. Spent a ton of money on a kick-arse Intel system.

Didn't like it though. Wasn't a bit better than any AMD system I had owned. Sold it and built a dual-AMD rig, now THAT is power. Since I built my first dually, I've sworn off single-CPU systems entirely. BTW, my awesome dual XP rig cost me less than my middle of the line Intel rig. Something to consider.

Dual-CPU's all the way.
 

Mr B

Senior Admin Emeritus
Joined
Dec 28, 2000
Location
East Bridgewater, MA
NeoN068 said:
What XP's did you use?

Same as mine, I believe. XP1600+'s. Fast, cheap, and very overclockable. I've got mine running at 12.5 x 140FSB...he's running a bit faster than that, but I'm still pretty happy with 3.5GHz... :D

I spent $300 for the board (MSI K7D Master-L) and two CPUs. How much is that Intel chip again?? :eek:

B.
 

TC

Senior Seti Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Look at how much that chip costs! 3.7GHz would be a nice overclock, but for that kind of money you can buy a few nice single amd setups, or a nice dually. If you just gotta have it at least wait a month or so until the price becomes a little more reasonable. Funny though - I remember happily paying $600 for the first Athlon when it came out. Now everybody cringes at anything over $300.
 

Mr B

Senior Admin Emeritus
Joined
Dec 28, 2000
Location
East Bridgewater, MA
TC said:
Look at how much that chip costs! 3.7GHz would be a nice overclock, but for that kind of money you can buy a few nice single amd setups, or a nice dually.

More like two nice duallies....;)
 

cmcquistion

IT Director Senior
Joined
Oct 15, 2001
Location
Tennessee
yeah, I just got dual XP1600's from Newegg for about $55/piece. Got 'em overclocked to 1800 MHz @ default voltage (good chips.)

This system cost me hundreds less than my single P4 @ 2.4 GHz w/ RDRAM and is the fastest system I have ever used, period. The P4 system may have scored higher in some benchmarks, but not in actual use. In actual use, dual smoke any single-CPU system.

If you wanted higher speed chips, I'd recommend XP2100's or 2200's. That opens the door to multiplier's over 12.5 and you can overclock from there.