• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AK35GT-R Experience

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

The Doors

Vesuvius Senior Ocer
Joined
Jan 18, 2001
Location
Athens - Greece
Well, even if still with the Mobo thermistor prob, I don't know which are the real Cpu temps, but considering that I'm using a Glaciator II lapped, ArticSilver II mixed with CoolingFlow thermal paste, and a very good FullTower Case airflow, I couln't resist to try to OC my XP1600+ Stepping Revision AGOGA, Locked for the moment.
At the beginning the results was really disappointing, especially for the HigQuality mem modules used, and even if with the most conservative mem settings, I got no more of 145Mhz stable!
Going through the days, it was stable @147Mhz too, so I've tried to set the most aggressive timing, and it was still stable, but not with higher Fsb.
Today I've tried another time to go @150Mhz 1.85v, and with great surprise it works really fine, onestly not too much at the beginning, but I suppose that depends by Stability Test 6.0 (build 154) used in Troubleshootting Mode, that during the first test (Peripheral Test), if doesn't found a FloppyDisk into the FD-Drive freeze the system, and infact only during this test, without a FloppyDisk, still freeze!
I've used with success Toast in High Priority Mode, Sisoft Sandra Burn-In Test, and Stability test in all the way, over the standard PC use, so during the next days, when the Mobo will be replaced, I'll try to go higher ;)

Adriano :)
 

kwoon

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2001
Location
asian home sweet home
my shuttle is agood board and very overclockable
now i can run my fsb on 150 but if i run into 155 i got freeze or hang
especially from the shuttle i'm very like the ide raid that can change too one ide that is from the doors experience and i very thanks for that maybe after i go with that i will go higher again than that :D
 
Last edited:

Arkaine23

Captain Random Senior Evil
Joined
Nov 8, 2001
this board

Well, my problem has been heat. The air temperature in my house has been around 30C lately, whereas when I was overclocking my AK31 it'd been much colder... more like 22C. I blasted the AC and there was a small cold front yesterday. I was able to get my 1600+ to 1619 with 1.9v 11x147. I still can't get high FSB's stable, and I haven't figured out what piece of hardware is holding me back.
 

bdf24

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Location
Harford, WI.
Well, So far I like the board. But I have'nt been able to overclock my 1 gig as high as I could with my old Asus A7A. Actually I can't really overclock at all. The highest I get is 1064 and it'll lock up occasionally. So now I got it back to 1000mhz. My A7A ran this chip at 1.2 gig's 100% stable. I can't even get this board to post anything faster then 1133mhz. And even then sometimes it takes a few minutes before it will post. Really weird. I think it's the chip. Maybe this motherboard is a little picky about what it runs.

Overall speed of the board is nice though. My system actually runs much faster at 1000mhz now then it did running at 1.2gig's before though.
 

Arkaine23

Captain Random Senior Evil
Joined
Nov 8, 2001
command rate

Yes, I always run in 2T for stability. And I've tried it at cas 2.5, and maxed out the vdimm. So for the time being I'm working around my FSB limitation. I've got my 1600+ at 1628 by using 11x148 and 2volts. I'm starting to wonder about my own thermistor's accuracy, b/c its 26 C room temperature here but my cpu never goes above 40C, and idles (at this OC and voltage) at 38 C. And those temps are adjusted from MBM5 by +2... the actual MBM readings are 2 C lower. I just figured it'd be putting out so much heat that the real temps must be higher, especially the load temp. Its not really stable above 1590 though. Could be the limit of the chip, or maybe its a heat issue. Still testing....

Edit: I just thought about what might possibly be throwing off my temp accuracy... My duct blasts the whole hsf with 66cfms. Perhaps the secondary cooling to the whole socket area is messing up the thermal sensor's readings.

And as for the memory, it worked up to 153 with all the best settings, even 1T command rate, on my AK31 r3.1. Its the same on the AK35GT-R. I can run the fastest settings up about 153, but the pc is not stable above 150. Lessening the timings does not help, so maybe its not the ram holding me back.
 
Last edited:
OP
The Doors

The Doors

Vesuvius Senior Ocer
Joined
Jan 18, 2001
Location
Athens - Greece
I've got similar results, so I'm thinking of something related to the Bios, have you tried with an upgrade?

Note: During this week I'll receive the new AK35 ;)
 

Arkaine23

Captain Random Senior Evil
Joined
Nov 8, 2001
nic

I thought the nic (generic Realtek) was holding me back and so I took it out. I wasn't able to overclock any higher without it. The only other expansion cards I have are a SIIG USB card, my new Santa Cruz soundcard, and my Geforce 2 Ti. I'll try removing the usb and sound cards one at a time, but I still think the problem is a high ambient temperature. I ran prime95 at default speeds and vcore and it crashed after 4 or 5 hours. I'm hoping it was just a fluke, because its normally rock stable up to about 1570-1590.

Still, I'm pretty happy with the AK35GT-R. I beat my old 3dmark2k1 score by 180 points over my old AK31's overclocking ability, due to the voltage options and unlocked multiplyer. I've OC'd my cpu by an extra 50 Mhz above my AK31's max although it hasn't been stable all the way up at 1656. I have to work on a cooling solution for my house and badger my roommates into letting me run the AC 24/7.
 

Arkaine23

Captain Random Senior Evil
Joined
Nov 8, 2001
weird

I tried to run Prime95 at default everything again, and it crashed within 12 hours. I started to burn-in at 7x133 =933 and 2.0 vcore and it did fine for about 16 hours, then crashed. Hmmm........ temps never break 39C even with a higher mult and vcore(I adjusted MBM to read 2C higher because that doesn't seem right)

Kwoon: I disabled the board's USB as soon as I got it, cuz I have a 5 port USB pci card. Maybe the usb card is causing the problem with high FSB. I'll take that out next and see if I can get it higher.

Edit: Silly me! It was just in suspend mode! Moving the mouse didn't make it come back to life, but typing on the keyboard did! Now running 11x148 stable... 1633Mhz.
 
Last edited: