• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

am i going too far? <----

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Karbon

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
ok, i got a lot of money for christmas and my birthday, so of course im gonna spend it all on my computer! i just got my 9800 pro and my new case, so i want to venture into watercooling. my setup is looking to be an iwaki md20rlzt, maze4 cpu, T-line, clearflex60, and a combo rad/shroud from dtek.

i have a couple questions, such as wut blocks to get for NB and my 9800 and wut 120mm fan to get. also, seeing as im cooling so much, would 1 radiator be enough? i also know that maze4 isnt the best, so i might get a whitewater or cascade in the near future. i know im 'not the brightest bulb' ;) but your help is appreciated!!
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
I would get somthink like a cascade or white water for the CPU instead. (seriously consider that one <---) The Danger Den Z block is pretty good for the NB and their video card block is also good, don't know for sure if it fits 9800s though...

1 radiator should be enough but if you want really low temps you might want 2, and with an nice iwaki you can probably do it with no repucutions (besides making room) too. Or maybe just a larger rad - but that would requite some modefication on your part too... hard to find large rads with barbs on them.
 

E-Licious

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
You shouldn't worry about adding rads to a system. Just add them in parallel to your existing rad. You'll increase flow and cooling power at the same time.
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
Parallel can cause other problems though... if they arn't the same rad or have weird tube routing it could make weird stuff happen... but you 'r right. reguarless with an iwaki... Those things are bad asses.
 
OP
Karbon

Karbon

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
run in parallel with one for cpu and other for nb/gpu ?
 

AngryAlpaca

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2003
Yup. I wouldn't suggest the Z-chip, though. It kills flow a LOT. Go with the DTek NB block. It's not the best cooling, but, for the 10 or 20 watts, it'll suffice. Maze 4 GPU is what you should go for. If you want Dangerden for your CPU, go for a Maze3 or RBX. However, I would suggest the WW.
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
You could do that if the blocks have have similar restriction... if one has more or less the other will get more water and the more restrictive one, which probably benefits more from incresed flow will most likley preforme worse. But you can do it... I did :p But I think the blocks are pretty similar in how restrictive they are - they both a have pretty big open chambers....
 

UberBlue

Completely NUTS
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Location
Huffing Water Wetter
I run my NB and CPU in parallel. What I did was put a natural gas valve inline with the NB block and throttle it back to just enough. You can find this valve at Home Depot with the rest of the brass barbs and fittings. Works like a champ.

I can provide a pic if you like.
 

eXCeSS

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
Location
New York
UberBlue said:
I run my NB and CPU in parallel. What I did was put a natural gas valve inline with the NB block and throttle it back to just enough. You can find this valve at Home Depot with the rest of the brass barbs and fittings. Works like a champ.

I can provide a pic if you like.

Pics?
 
OP
Karbon

Karbon

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
UberBlue said:
If you have the room, two fedco 2-342 cores would rock. Your Iwaki has more than enough balls to handle those in series.


if i end up using dual rads i'll probably have one in lower front and other above psu. would it be worth it to run in parrallel? i think series would be a lot easier, any idea how the performance would be affected?

could you link to the fedco 2-324? autozone.com isnt working for me :/

also, biggestn00bever is now karbon, just name change ;P
 
Last edited:

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
Just a name change eh? Does that mean you are still the biggest noob ever? :p ;)

If you decide to run a heatercore above the PSU you may need to relocate the PSU, depending on your case. I have a cheiftec Dragon Rip-Off mid tower (not the one with room for 2 PSUs) and I had to take the PSU out of it's case and move it above my 2 CD drives to make it work well. Not that hard though and then you can use the whole top section of teh case as a duct and use lots of fans. I have 3X80mm a 120mm and a 92mm pulling air through my rad:D