• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bluefightingcat

Registered
Hi,

I building a new machine and I'm on a tight budget. I am also quite new to all this so any advice would be appreciated. Whilst I don't play many games these days I am obsessed with MS Flight Simulator X. I want to build a system that can run MSFS in all its glory. However the catch is it has to be done on a small budget. :shrug: Otherwise I just use my computer for everyday office and multimedia stuff.

So I've bought a Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition (2.6Ghz) and my intention is to Overclock it. It comes with the multiplier unlocked which helps alot. On Tom's Hardware they got it to about 3.2 Ghz and on xtremesystems forum they got it to 3.7 Ghz both air cooled.

First my question about what accessories to add to it. For the motherboard I've decided that I would get a ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe. This definitely seems like a really great board especially for overclocking. Anyone have any experience with it?

I plan to buy 2 x 512MB Kingston DDR2-800 (PC2-6400). Do you think that this will be enough and overclockable? (Does it make a difference if I get 1x1024 or 2x512?)

I've never overclocked before and whilst I have read about it alot am I a little unsure of myself. So my first question about this is, which should be overclocked first: CPU, motherboard or memory?

With the CPU, when overclocking should I overclock with the multiplier first or should I try and increase the FSB? Or should I increase both together bit by bit?

What stability software should I use to check whethre the machine is stable?

I plan to load XP on the system. And later on Linux Kubuntu (Dual boot).

Any advice would be much appreciated.

BFC

Welcome to the forum.