• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Athon XP 2200 or AMD XP Barton 2500

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DDR-PIII

Disabled
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
6p6
I'll be picking one up tomorrow, not sure which one to get thoguh as i have never used an AMD before. there is only a $20 difference and they both come with fans, I'll probably get a new fan for it anways and use the fan on my old celly. Also which is the right motherbord for the better cpu? overclocking wise.

thanks guys.

i was just ckecking out the cpudatabase here and see some nice results, would i be able to hit 2.5ghz with air cooling ?
 
OP
DDR-PIII

DDR-PIII

Disabled
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
6p6
i woulda went intel, but the only cheaper chip than the 2200 & 2500 was the 2.4ghz celeron, which was $105 and the 2200 is $130 and the 2500 is $150
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
The 2200+'s are notoriously bad overclockers, so I'd avoid them as their good steppings are quite rare. The 2500+'s, 2800+'s(most of them) 3000+'s, and 3200+'s are based on the Barton and have 512k of L2 cache as opposed to 256k in the others. Unfortunately, the most recent ones are locked. I'd probably go with this guaranteed stepping 1800+ as its known to be a reliable overclocker.

Btw, the AMD FAQ should answer just about any and all questions you could ever have about AMD processors.
 
OP
DDR-PIII

DDR-PIII

Disabled
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
6p6
good stuff there thanks, but still i need to ask yet another question :) how many watts am i going to need in my power supply ? ive only got an old one now, and i will buy a new one, how many watts will it need to be ? thje hardware in it will be the 2500, or 2600 heh prices seem to be good so i just make up my mind when the time comes, some ddr 333 or 400 ram, dont know which mobo yet. a hard drive 7200rpm 8mb cache 80gb you know which one. a cd-rom 48x, radeon 9800 pro xt 256mb. and a 10/100nic.
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
DDR-PIII said:
good stuff there thanks, but still i need to ask yet another question :) how many watts am i going to need in my power supply ? ive only got an old one now, and i will buy a new one, how many watts will it need to be ? thje hardware in it will be the 2500, or 2600 heh prices seem to be good so i just make up my mind when the time comes, some ddr 333 or 400 ram, dont know which mobo yet. a hard drive 7200rpm 8mb cache 80gb you know which one. a cd-rom 48x, radeon 9800 pro xt 256mb. and a 10/100nic.

It's the brand that matters a lot more than the rated wattage. A 300-400w PSU by reputable brands such as Antec, Fortron, HEC, etc. should get the job done easily.

i was just ckecking out the cpudatabase here and see some nice results, would i be able to hit 2.5ghz with air cooling ?
With the recent steppings, the odds are on your side. 2.3 is pretty much a guarantee. The Abit NF7 is widely accepted as the best Socket 462 board out there today.
 

cujo

Member
Joined
May 29, 2003
Location
Ontario, Canada
you mean you're not buying it online...

where's here? we're both in ontario so i might be able to give you some suggestions.
 
OP
DDR-PIII

DDR-PIII

Disabled
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
6p6
cujo said:
you mean you're not buying it online...

where's here? we're both in ontario so i might be able to give you some suggestions.

yeah i said what i meant just not clearly haha "not gonna buy it off the internet" and yup in ontario, im just gonna goto the local ncil, and get them to order my stuff for me, including an NF7-S which seems to be the right mobo or me. gues i got lucky cause i know someone who works there and hes just gonan order my stuff offa newegg, instead of me having to pay their crazy store prices. so i should have a setup by next week or so, whenever i have the cash. i woulda went instal, but yeah $$$ =/
 

BalliN

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2003
Location
Houston. TX
Yes, I would agree barton 2500, with the NF7-S v2.0 board is a great combo. I wouldn't look at the 2600 because the multiplyer is set higher then on the 2500 (If you end up with a locked one).
If I remember correctly the 2500 is x11 and I thinks the 2600 is 11.5. Even if you get the locked one you still should be able to achieve a nice overclock.

Also I would look into the Fortron 350 psu. This is the one I juss ordered after reading for weeks about psu's :D and it should do the job well.

Best of Luck

BalliN