• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Duron 1.4 ghz....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

lee

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
hmmm, been looking for info on this processor and can't even find much info at AMD's website - what gives?........ my neighbor was building a system for his mom and he apparently didn't know enough about processors to order the right one for the mobo he was going to use ( he needed an old 1.3 tbird, not a newer 1.4 duron) and since he ordered the wrong one, he gave the duron to me........i have an old shuttle ak31 rev.3.1 i want to use it on and was trying to find out as much about the processor (overclocking, etc...) b/4 i build a simple servor out of it.......if anyone can send me some places to look, would be appreciative........google didn't yield much and neither did many tech-sites but i'm sure someone here may know a bit (hopefully)... thanx........
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
1.4 Duron is an Applebred core cpu. (0.13µ L2=64KB) 266 FSB

Basically, T-Bred/Barton grade processor modules with 64 KB cache.

Post week 2003 39 Durons may be multiplier locked. Download the latest version of BIOS for your mobo so it can recognize it correctly.

If you have a multiplier unlocked CPU, it may be moded perhaps, can you change the multis on it?

It should overclock very well but if it's locked, and you have entry level RAM sticks, you'll only be able to up the FSB as much as your RAM and mobo will let you.

MHz speed = [FSB] x multiplier.

Here are all new CPUs: http://www.c627627.com/AMD/AthlonXP/
Here are old ones: http://www.c627627.com/AMD-Intel/
...and here are old Durons http://www.c627627.com/Celeron-Duron/
 
OP
L

lee

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
thanx, reckon it should run on my shuttle ak31 rev. 3.1 (266A).... week 44 so it "multi-locked" but might push the fsb a little.....but for free, should work fine for a small server......
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
If it's locked, it's locked at 10.5.

So [133] x 10.5.

For average PC2100, you're looking at above 1.5 GHz at most since PC2100s average 140s to low 150s FSB...
 

Quailane

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
my pc2100 kingston value ram is 100% stable at 189fsb. 190 crashes occasionally and causes errors with protein folding.
 

Quailane

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Oh yeah, my 1.4 Duron is unlocked but I can't change multipliers on my motherboard so I'm stuck at 1.984Ghz at 1.45 volts.
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Unfortuantely not, if it's a week 44 factory locked CPU, which it probably is.
 
OP
L

lee

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
hehe, get a turnip for free and we expect to squeeze blood from it............i've got some pc2100 crucial memory so i'll push until the memory or the chip comes unglued, then back off a tad.......interested in how this chip benches - might put it in my wife's machine and take the 1600+ & put it in the server.....