• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

And Without Further Delay.... 2.4C IC7-G PC3500 Winbond CH-5

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kunal

Registered
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
UK
Hey guys - finally picked up my RAM from the parcel depot Friday morning, although havnt had a chance to play with the system until today! Had my final exam on Friday, so I've spent the entire weekend out celebrating with friends :) What better way to nurse a hangover than a bit of OC'in while watchin a Back to the Future marathon :p

Anyhow, it's all up and running now, just wanna start with some benchies and info of the system at stock.

Intel Pentium 4 2.40Ghz 800-HT (SL6WF L310)
Abit IC7-G Bios 1.3
2x 512mb PC3500 Winbond CH-5 Timings 2-5-2-2
Maxtor 120Gb SATA
Antec TrueBlue480
SLK900U w/ 80mm Pabst (8412NG 40.6cfm, 3100RPM, 32dBA)

CPU - 1.525v
RAM - 2.6v
Performance Mode - Ultra (guessing I should set it to this over Turbo and Fast)

cpuz-1.gif

sandra-cpu1.gif

sandra-mem1.gif

superpi-1.gif

Flashed from 1.0 straight to 1.3 - although I don't think I ever had the temp problem - reported temps were 37degC idle and 45degC load, before and after the Bios flash.

CPU-Z reports RAS to CAS as 3, while it's set to 2 - should I believe CPU-Z or the Bios? I've run Prime95 for a coupla hours at 2-5-2-2 appears to like it.

Also, isn't the CPU bein undervolted quite a lot? Set to default 1.525, although reading in CPU-Z as 1.504v and 1.50 in Winbond Hardware Doc.

Do you guys n gals think those sandra mem and cpu score look right for the setup and config?
 
OP
K

Kunal

Registered
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
UK
I thought the RAM scores we're a bit low as well - I've installed the Intel(R) Chipset Software Installation Utility v5.00.1012, that came on the Abit CD, first thing I did when Win2K booted for the first time. Installed everything on the CD.

Anyone have any idea's as to what's holding my RAM scores back?

(Just updating win2k, although I don't see that making a difference ;) )
 

theotherphil

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2002
Location
England, Near Europe
Ack, ignore me....these Canterwood boards are very confusing in how they get their bandwidth. For example, at 200/200 I get similar mem benches to yourself (4.6GB/s - I just tested). Now at 250fsb with the 5:4 divider (ram at 200fsb) you would think that you'd get the same performance, no?

Wrong...at 250/200 with the exact same timings as 200/200, I get:

p4@3gmem.gif


Where the hell did this extra bandwidth come from when the timings and RAM speed are the same? :confused:. Never mind, I don't really care but it rocks!
 

texasfit

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Location
Austin, TX ; USA
Sandra benches are affected by the cpu speed - also dual channel bandwidth is affected.

Kunal
You are about right for the 200/200 mem scores
I would trust the cpu_z readings.
Set the vcore in the bios to where it shows default 1.525v idle in cpu_z and then start to oc the fsb.
Set the mem ratio to 3:2 and lower the timings
Increase the fsb to see what you get at default. It should be somewhere around 270+fsb.
 

TC

Senior Seti Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Your scores at 200 are low for some reason. My P4G8X was getting close to that at 150FSB. My P4C800 gets 5000 at 200fsb.
 

xtrmeocr

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
the p4 is the bottle neck thats why. it cant deliver the full 6.4gb/sec which is advertizes
 
OP
K

Kunal

Registered
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
UK
All very strange heh :)

Tried to push it at 2-5-2-2, although didn't get very far. Didn't expect to though.

SPD for the ram is 2.5-7-3-3, although it's advertised as, and used by many as 2-7-3-3.

I've set it to the advertised default of 2-7-3-3 (got loadsa strange Bios erros between 2-5-2-2 and 2-7-3-3). Still at 2.6v, 217mhz/434mhz.

Gonna see how high I can push it on the 1:1 divider, with mem voltage set to default.

BTW, I've left the NB Strap in the Bios as "By CPU", should I change it to PSB800? Or just leave it.
 

AZN

AznSniper
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
theotherphil said:
And to confuse even more, at 300/200 I can't even post with the timings at 2, 5, 2, 2. I have to drop to 2.5, 7, 3, 2 and still beat the 250/200 mem bench:

300mem.gif

tell me u are not serious. even thou the ram speed is still at 200mhz the cpu speed at 250fsb is 600mhz more and at 300fsb its 600mhz more then that or 1200mhz more then stock so the increase in cpu speed will affect the overall memory bandwidth. comon are u joking with us?
 

Rio71

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Karlsruhe, Germany
AZN said:


the increase in cpu speed will affect the overall memory bandwidth.
no, no!
i have absolutely the same sandra mem-bench with 845pe.

p4m @ 2400 4:5 --> 500ddr
or
2.4/533 @ 3380 3:4 --> 500ddr

memtest86 3.0 shows me the same, independence of cpu-speed.
 

texasfit

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Location
Austin, TX ; USA
AZN said:


tell me u are not serious. even thou the ram speed is still at 200mhz the cpu speed at 250fsb is 600mhz more and at 300fsb its 600mhz more then that or 1200mhz more then stock so the increase in cpu speed will affect the overall memory bandwidth. comon are u joking with us?

u are joking, right? :eek:

LOL
 

CrazyP

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
what he is saying is the more bandwidth the p4 puts out, the more the memory takes in, up to a certain point. the memory wont be maxed out in bandwidth unless the p4 can feed it. thats why amd numbers are lower all the time in these type of tests
 

AZN

AznSniper
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
Rio71 said:

no, no!
i have absolutely the same sandra mem-bench with 845pe.

p4m @ 2400 4:5 --> 500ddr
or
2.4/533 @ 3380 3:4 --> 500ddr

memtest86 3.0 shows me the same, independence of cpu-speed.
the mobile chip will have a much higher bandwidth (fsb) then the B chip so it should be about the same range in memory bandwidth
the p4m is at 200fsb right? and the 2.4b is at 187fsb so

p4m @ 2400 4:5 --> 500ddr
12x200fsb 4:5=ddr500

2.4/533 @ 3380 3:4 --> 500ddr

18x187fsb 3:4=ddr500

so even thou the cpu speed is different u have the same ddr speed cuzz of the differrent ratio u used and should be gettign the same memory scores.
 

texasfit

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Location
Austin, TX ; USA
AZN said:

the mobile chip will have a much higher bandwidth (fsb) then the B chip so it should be about the same range in memory bandwidth
the p4m is at 200fsb right? and the 2.4b is at 187fsb so

p4m @ 2400 4:5 --> 500ddr
12x200fsb 4:5=ddr500

2.4/533 @ 3380 3:4 --> 500ddr

18x187fsb 3:4=ddr500

so even thou the cpu speed is different u have the same ddr speed cuzz of the differrent ratio u used and should be gettign the same memory scores.

Actually, I thought you were joking.
In Sandra the scores will be different due to the overall memory usage that the program tests even though the ram is running at the same speed ie: DDR400.
Couple of examples for you:
In that c#@p Sandra Program.
The bus speed is 400mhz more at 250 and does have impact on the overall memory bandwidth for the system.

Here are 2 different Mem Brands using the same timings:
****Corsiar TwinX3200LL PC3200****
P4C800-2.60 = . . . 4654 / 4659 . . DDR400(1:1) . 200fsb . . . . 2600Mhz
P4C800-2.60 = . . . 5421 / 5387 . . DDR400(5:4) . 250fsb . . . . 3250Mhz
****Kingston HyperX KH3500 PC3500****
P4C800-2.60 = . . . 4662 / 4639 . . DDR400(1:1) . 200fsb . . . . 2600Mhz
P4C800-2.60 = . . . 5421 / 5402 . . DDR400(5:4) . 250fsb . . . . 3250Mhz
 

Rio71

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Karlsruhe, Germany
AZN said:

the mobile chip will have a much higher bandwidth (fsb) then the B chip so it should be about the same range in memory bandwidth
the p4m is at 200fsb right? and the 2.4b is at 187fsb so

p4m @ 2400 4:5 --> 500ddr
12x200fsb 4:5=ddr500

2.4/533 @ 3380 3:4 --> 500ddr

18x187fsb 3:4=ddr500

so even thou the cpu speed is different u have the same ddr speed cuzz of the differrent ratio u used and should be gettign the same memory scores.
yes, correctly.
but theotherphil has different memory bandwidth at even 200ddr. (similar to my 500ddr)
only changing with cpu-speed.
this can't be.
same memory-fsb = same memory bandwidth
 

AZN

AznSniper
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
i took both blue and red pills so dont listen to me i really dont know what im talking about most the time :)