• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Annoying network error..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Hello!

My dad just bought a new pc it's a ready built thing by HP it's got a 3.2HT P4 in it and a gig of RAM.

Anyway. We got wireless network cards and an ADSL router.

We've now got 4 machines.

1. Ians
2. James
3. Jennifer
4. Backup

Every computer ineracts fine and can share files and access the internet perfectly apart from Backup.

Not one single computer can access it.
But BACKUP can access everything else and it can also use the internet.

But we keep getting an error message when we try and go into it's shared files or it's shared drive.

Normally we get "Network Path not found" which is usually cured by fiddling with IP numbers.

But this error is different, I got a screen shot so you can decide for yourself.

Thanks!
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
S-Shot

I can't post the pic because it was taken on a 19" monitor...

It's resolution is too high and I can't get it small enough and still be readable.

Ask me to email it to you if you think you can help.

Thanks a million.
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
The following is the error message I receive

Not enough server storage is available to process this command.

Any ideas people?
 

ggo

Disabled
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
is the server service running? it seems like something is wrong with it.
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
How do find the server service?

My dad said he set something to server mode ages ago but he can't find it.

Please help to find it!

Is it start>run> services.msc

Thanks.
 

mbentley

Gloriously Lead, Overclockix Chief Architect
Joined
Sep 26, 2002
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Quattro said:
How do find the server service?

My dad said he set something to server mode ages ago but he can't find it.

Please help to find it!

Is it start>run> services.msc

Thanks.

yes, just use start > run > services.msc. then scroll down to "server" and make sure it is running and set to start automatically.

what operating systems are the computers running?
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
James & Jennifer are both running XP Pro
Backup is running XP Home
Ian is running XP media centre edition which I believe is XP Pro relabeled.

I did what you said about the server service, and it was already turned on.

Heres an interesting thing for you though.

I can't get access to "backups" hard drives.
However if I share the Jaz Iomega drive it allows full access..

Can you help?
 

TimDgsr

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
the fact that backup is on XP home bothers me. my biggest problem with XP is the addition of simple file sharing to the OS. it totally screws the whole idea behind NTFS if you ask me, and not only that but messes up the ability to share with anonymous users with XP pro if you turn it off to gain regular ACL controls over the file system.
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Oh right.
Can I upgrade from XP Home to XP Pro without having to format?
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Really! So I could change it to XP Pro without loosing any data and all my programms will still work and the registry won't be completly messed up?
 

TimDgsr

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
yeah, but that's still no guarantee that it will get rid of that error. how do you have the info shared on that machine right now?
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
I have shared the drive that I want to share. I have enabled user to change the files also.

I can't understand why I get the error when tryng to access the hard drive but it works fine if I share the Jaz drive...