• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Another AMD Vs. Intel

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Okin

Registered
I'm only a noob here so please be patient with me.

I'm trying to build a new system with my very low budget so I will be doing it one piece at a time. I will be using some parts from my old Celeron 533 mhz to complete my new system (like upgrading the celeron).

I have my eye on a:
Intel P4 S478 CPU
ASUS P4B533 MOBO
256 MB DDR PC/2100 MEM

Are these parts compatible with each other?
If an AMD can equal or outperform this set up and cheaper, could someone please give me specs of the parts that I need to buy?

Overclocking for me is still way over my head so I'd prefer to run a stock system. Perhaps I could tinker with it in the future when I learn more about overclocking.

Thank you very much

If you´re on a low budget maybe you should get an AMD.

Yes the parts are compatible with each other. However you might wanna get PC2700 memory for better performace. You didnt say wich P4 cpu you are looking at.

you dont have a location in your profile so im pricing this in £s
(im just pricing from a site so you get a rough estimate of price)

(B = 533 bus)

P4 2.40B £180
P4 2.53B £230
P4 2.66B £295
P4 2.80B £370

256 DDR PC2100 CL2 £65
256 DDR PC2700 CL2 £70

Couldnt find the motherboard on the site I got them prices from but I should imagine around £90

I would dislike to go AMD now and get anything less than a 2600 with 333 support...266 dont seem appealing :'(

but for price AMD is generally what you want to go for...if you have mega bucks get a nice new 3.06 ;)

*EDIT*
whats that powerful at high speed crap that replaced the smilie?

I can help you shop for parts on AIM (I'm CaptainSlg) if you simply give me a location.