• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Another first time WC'er needing help/advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jinz

(warning long post)

Hello to all.

As the title suggests, i have decided to take the "plunge" into WC and would appreciate all the help and suggestions humanly possible.

I am rather new to building computers this being only my third, but do enjoy the whole aspect of it even the researching and reading of info. I like taking my time and making sure i do a good clean job.

I have read alot of the info over at skinneelabs and been through the stickies here aswell as reading forums from various outlets i'm looking to buy from, taking in as much as i can understand.

I have a certain theme in mind for my build that contains alot of "bling" however if certain parts will affect performance then i am more than happy to look at alternatives. Below is a list of what i currently have and the performance i am getting, also a list of what i think would work best for me for this build.

Case = Haf X - 4x 200mm CM Megaflows - 2x 140mm Aerocool Shark (1 rear exhaust/1 drive bay intake)

CPU/Cooling = i7920 @ 4ghz HT off - 1.27v (1.29 full load) H50 push/pull with CM sickleflow 120mm (push) Bitspower 120>140 adpater that seems to be acting as a small shroud as a bonus and the 140mm Aerocool (pull) rear mounted. 2hours+ Prime95 small fft = 68-71C hottest core depeding on Ambient. (Edit just did a quick hour on OCCT linpak, hottest core topped at 71C then bounced back and forth from 68-69)

GPU's = GTX 580 Hydrocopper2 in SLI (not installed yet obviously but what i'm looking to cool)

I have no plans to cool any of the mobo/chipset but will list it and other compnents that you good folks might deem necessary.

Mobo = Asus Rampage 2 Extreme
Sound = Onboard