• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

(another) i5 750 OC'd thread :)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

retrogreq

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
I started to get the itch for an upgrade after having the ole E8500 for a year, so I decided to go 1156, and I must say, I'm not disappointed. When I first got the system installed, and got done formating/reinstalling win7, I was kind of surprised by how much more difficult (relatively speaking) it was to OC this chip compared to the wolfdale. Took me a whole day compared to about an hour with the old chip. Once I got used to the higher temps, I was able to get 4ghz stable with 1.39v (in bios). Ran some benches, and im quite happy!
0128101402-00.jpg

0128101412-00.jpg

0128101436-00.jpg

0128101929-00.jpg

sfafsa.png

sda-1.png


cinebench 64bit multi-cpu -20266, single cpu- 7120
The only thing im considering changing is the way I have the cooler mounted. At first, I thought it would be good to have it facing the way it currently is...that way the 225mm fan on the top can suck the hot air out..but then once I put in the video card, I realized that its going to suck hot air off of the GTX260. Unfortunately, I used the last of my AS5 mounting it the first time, and we have about 4 inches of snow and ice out there now, so I cant do anything about it till monday : /
:rain:
ran prime95 overnight last night, and the hottest any core got was 80. playing games and benching and such, I rarely see over 62, so I'm calling it stable for what I'm doing :)

Thanks to PolRoger90 for the CPU and mobo :)
 

stainlineho

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
got some screenshots? because no, my voltage isnt high at all for a 4ghz OC, from what ive seen around the forums

Capture.png


Now this has only been through about an hour of Prime95, so I'm sure it would error after some time, but its pretty stable in my computer games.
 

TaCoSwInDeZ

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Location
Huntsville, Al
Ya I would have to agree you got a good chip there. The norm for 4ghz is in the 1.35-1.4 range avg. My computer runs at full load both CPU and GPU 24/7 with SETI and Rosetta and my machine is stable at 1.344 so my chip isn't too bad either especially since im not even pushing 1.2 volts on the VTT.
 

Jizzzared

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
My 750 needs 1.296 for 3.8ghz and 1.365 for 4.0ghz. Granted, I did extended testing with prime and IBT to determine this.

Stainlineho, assuming you've done this testing as well at your current settings, I'd say you have a very nice chip.
 

PolRoger

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
I've tested four i5 750 and they have all needed >1.30v vcore for 4.0GHz and three needed 1.35v+ for 20x200. I've seen some chips on the forums that will do 4.0 with less than 1.30v even a couple at less then 1.25v but they seem to be rather rare.

@retrogreq: I'm glad to see you have it up and running... are you running your board with "low droop"? You may be able to fine tune and possibly bring down vcore and vtt a few steps/notches.
 
OP
retrogreq

retrogreq

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
no, i have it at the setting to stabilize it....are you saying if i change it to regular, i might be able to lower my voltages?
 

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
It seems after 3.8V the scaling skyrockets for 4.0 and 4.2

I can get 3.8 for about 1.3V but 4.0 requires 1.37 and 4.2 needs 1.46.

I would love lower volts, but hopefully if I do burn out my chip, Intel will give me a new one. :)
 

PolRoger

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Yes... I think I've settled on 3.8GHz o.c. for 24/7 "crunching" type usage on my rigs. However I still like to bench/test at higher speeds for more limited sessions.
 

stainlineho

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
I have found that the higher voltages are needed to keep it stable. Core 3 errored on Prime95 after 3 hours at 100% load. I have raised the OC to 4.21Ghz. Is that any negatives to running 21x multiplier? I have installed the DDR3 1600Mhz GSkill Ripjaws now for this OC.

421.png
 
OP
retrogreq

retrogreq

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
having an OC boot for a screenshot, and having one stable on prime are 2 different things :p
 

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Looks pretty good. See how much voltage it takes to actually make it stable at 4.21

For me @4.2 it takes 1.46V to get it stable. As long as I stay below 90 degrees, I'm good. :)

If I decide to run it full throttle non stop, I would lower the clock to 4.0 and it would make me more comfortable. Let intel buy me another one if it breaks, and if it doesn't break in 3 years I will get an i7 860 or better.
 

SamSaveMax

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
cinebench 64bit multi-cpu -20266, single cpu- 7120

How did you managed 7120 score for single cpu at 4GHz? (or is it 6120?).....while multi-cpu at 20266 sounds about right.
 
Last edited:

4GHZ_or_bust

Now 6GHz or Bust!
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Location
Michigan
I'm doing 4GHz stable at 1.36v and no I don't know how to check for vdroop, the manual for my mobo is ****-poor.

I was able to get all the way to 4.3 but I needed a big jump in voltage before I got chain BSoD. I may be able to get a bit more if I dropped the multiplier to 19.

1.35 to 1.4v is about typical range for i7 750 CPU at 4GHz.