• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

another noob question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dillinja666

ya ya im a noob...
anyhow, so when i get my cpu on monday ( thanks new egg for the delay ) and i go to attach my dark knight cooler to it, how much thermal paste stuff do i put on? do i try to cover the entire top of the cpu or just a big glob in the middle and call it a day? :shrug:

thanks...

Conumdrum

A blob smaller than a pea, larger than a grain of rice. Place cooler on it gently, start tightening screws 1-2 turns at a time in an x pattern.

lots of vids on YTube. Google is your friend.

Daddyjaxx

Place cooler on it gently, start tightening screws 1-2 turns at a time in an x pattern.

How do you know he is getting an Intel CPU? :clap: AMD's don't work that way with the DK. If you have an AMD, it's the same thing except there is a brace that attaches to one side of the CPU bracket and a clip to the other side taht you rotate. It's kind of flimsy, so you need to be careful.

OP
dillinja666

dillinja666

ya its an amd...ok so a pea sized thing of paste. thanks! lol i couldnt remember..its been forever since ive done this stuff

Daddyjaxx

Dude, he was joking. You don't want to be ticking off one of the well respected members here, especially if you ever plan on coming here for watercooling advice.

OP
dillinja666

dillinja666

i just dont like people pooping on my new system that im still building...sorry for getting aggressive...im having a very bad day :rain:

Daddyjaxx

AMD's are fine. What are you getting. If you are getting a DK, you should know that you may only be able to point orient the HSF so that it blows out the top of the case. You can blame AMD on the mounting bracket. Hope you have a top exhaust fan. Also, if you have extra tall RAM, it may not fit under the DK.