• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Any help for old PC gaming build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kso

Hi, I am relatively new to any tech. Got my brains roasted gathering my current build in 2016. As you can clearly see it is old and budget but I never looked for 99999~ fps, I am just happy nerd playing games. I always preferred to buy a good thing which would last for 10 years and don't care much about trends (shame sometimes it is not working with pc builds cuz sockets, ports, cables, form factors etc).

So this is my system:
Chieftec GPS-600A8 600W
Asus PCI-Ex Radeon R9 380 Strix 4GB GDDR5
Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz/5GT/s/6MB
Gigabyte GA-Z97P-D3 (s1150, Intel Z97)
HyperX DDR3-1600 16384MB PC3-12800 x2
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB 2.5" SATAIII for my Windows OC
Crucial MX500 500GB 2.5" SATAIII 3D for my games

I usually spend my time in all kinds of rpgs, Dota 2, Destiny 2. Yesterday was the day I finally come to thought of changing my gear. My CPU choked when I opened two boxes of Lineage 2 for background gaming, Dota 2 and Firefox with 15 tabs (one of them stream on twitch). I cant really afford a build with new graphic card and my plan is to get new CPU for now. The latter would probably require a new motherboard.

I have read some cool stuff about Intel Core i5-10500 3.1GHz/12MB. As for motherboards - ASRock B460M Steel Legend / MSI MAG B460 Torpedo (s1200, Intel B460) ... need to check if ATX will fit in my case / or maybe should I look for B560 ?

The plan also includes changing thermal paste on my GPU and overclocking it. Though I am worried will it rise the necessity of buying new PSU?

I welcome any insights from more adept and knowledgeable folks around here :) Is this thread active? Or maybe I should post in "Intel CPUs" discussions?