• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Anyone else here flash their Radeon LE's with a retail Bios?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
After reading the posts on rage3d.com, I decided to flash my radeon LE with the retail bios.

Runs great and got me a 2900 om 3dmark2k1 without any tweaking. Pretty cool I must say. Now I REALLY do have the retail version (sans gpu fan I guess)

Amiel
 

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
I hear you loud and clear! I could not get the software off the link the guy posted over at the other website, but I did post that I needed it mailed to me.

Hopefully ill get the software from that guy that posted soon.

One question... does it gain you anything over a tweaked LE? I already have hyper Z enabled, and im running at 185 mhz on the clock speed. Installing the Retail bios will just let it default with hyperz and a 168 clock right?
AKDUDE
 
OP
FunkyTechnician

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
AKDUDE (May 04, 2001 02:27 p.m.):
I hear you loud and clear! I could not get the software off the link the guy posted over at the other website, but I did post that I needed it mailed to me.

Hopefully ill get the software from that guy that posted soon.

One question... does it gain you anything over a tweaked LE? I already have hyper Z enabled, and im running at 185 mhz on the clock speed. Installing the Retail bios will just let it default with hyperz and a 168 clock right?
AKDUDE

Exactly, AK

I believe that my default speed is now 167 and hyper-z is enabled without any tweakers. Let me know if you want me to e-mail the files to you if you don't get them promptly, I'll be online for a while playing Tribes2.

Amiel
 

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Hey guys, if either one of you could email me the new bios that would be great! I never did get them from RAGE3d, but I havn't looked in a couple days. None of the links have worked so far, including yours EARTHDICK.
Thanks!
AKDUDE
 

earthdick

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
"The Garden State" NJ
AKDUDE,
The file is on its way to your email address. I tried the link again and it works only when you cut and paste it into a web browser. That Helrizon really puts a kink in my shorts. Good luck and report back your results.
Thanks.
 

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Works great Earth ****! However im still building up the guts to actually flash the card. For every 5 people at rage3d.com that do it, one seems to screw it up.
I do have a PCI card that I could use to help flash it back though if I have a failure.
AKDUDE
 

Radak

Registered
Joined
Mar 17, 2001
Hey Arkdude. The process is really simple. You can't really screw up, just follow the instructions and you will be fine :). I flashed my Radeon LE, and it is working just fine :D. Just some words of courage.... :D

Radak
 

ExtremeOC

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
hey earthdick, the prob with your ink @ the top is:

THERE IS A PERIOD AFTER .ZIP!!!
LOL!

this sounds neat. But it wont double the mempath, but i'd like to see anand or someone compare the LE flashed retail to a radeon 32SDR, 32DDR, and 64DDR ViVo... and also a normal LE with Hyper-Z hack and one without.

Also, does it ALWAYS have hyper Z now? or does it still not work in like OpenGL?? if it works, i'll start putting them in customers computers =)
 

earthdick

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
"The Garden State" NJ
Thanks XtremeOC - I fixed the link in the original message plus I whipped up a web page for the bios a few messages down this thread. It does enable HyperZ according to the gurus at Rage3d.com, and I can verify the core/mem speed of 148 is changed to the retail version (165 on my machine, your mileage may vary). I still use Radeon Tweaker to get a little more out of it. When I get a fan on that heatsink I'll try to overclock.
 

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Nope, still havn't flashed the Radeon yet I simply have not really had the time to sit down to do it.

A RADEON LE is a DDR Card, with the Hyperz disabled and a lower clockspeed. Thats it. Still has thee memory channels or whatever you call them.

The Bios mod will make the LE a standard 32DDR.

Of course most of us here already have the HYPERZ enabled with a REG hack, and have the cards overclocked to around 190 or so.

Not a bad deal for a card that is 70 bucks right now.
AKDUDE