• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

apci headaches

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

p0ssumtr0t

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Ive got abit kt7a raid. my acpi wont let me use the damn irq I want for my modem so I go to disable it and I dont see how to disable it unless its the apm setting that I disable I also seen that after I disable it I gotta change the driver to standard pc please help im ready to chunk the whole thing out the door
 
OP
P

p0ssumtr0t

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
I have a isa modem with rock chipset pnp or non pnp. A voodoo banshee diamond style. Creative pci 128 sound card. The problem im havin I do believe is that im runnin a isa modem that does not support acpi and i need to turn it off in bios and reset but i dont know how to shut it down unless it is apm switch. so if anyone has any idea please let me know.
 

Maddman

R.I.P beloved friend to all
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Orlando, Florida
Are you running windows 2000. If you are can you get to the desktop, maybe in safemode. If you can, put the windows 2000 cd in the cd drive and do an install, and when it asks you, tell it to do an upgrade to windows 2000. during the install it will give you a chance to setup scsi controlers, when it does push the f5 key and chose standard pc. When windows 2000 finaly boots to a desktop check to see if everything is setup in device manager.
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
In your BIOS, try enabling Passive Release, and Delayed Transaction, and increase 8Bit I/O Recovery to maximum(usually eight) This will help the ISA card run properly. Hope this helps.
 

bug

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2001
It is dependant upon which version BIOS you are using... But I had similar problems with version ww. The problem is the enable/disable ACPI option is disabled in your BIOS.

Check out "How can I disable ACPI", under the "BIOS" section here, it tells you all you need to know...


Good Luck

Bug
 
OP
P

p0ssumtr0t

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Thanx bug this is what i been wanting to know they had everything and more