• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Apple/Mac Overclocking?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zuzzz

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
I'll make this VERY simple. I see lots of things about Intel/AMD. Are their any Apple/Mac overclocking options? I have heard very little if anything about it. Is this becuase you cant or perhaps the procedure is difficult? Im just curious and thought this might be the right area to post.

Z
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
Not really, from what I have heard OCing a Mac would requite weird soldering and crazyness... not really possible or at least not practical in any way.
 
OP
Zuzzz

Zuzzz

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Why bother??? It's OVERCLOCKING. . . I mean hehehe OO OOOOO POWER!!!!

Z
 

Yosk

Registered
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Location
ORR GONNNN
I see where your madness is coming from zuzzzz, Bwa haha this is the overclockers forums !!
 

simpleman

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Location
mo
wouldn't that be like trying to overclock a boat anchor,
after all they are the samething.
 
OP
Zuzzz

Zuzzz

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
ZACTLY . . . . Sooooooooo does anyone have any info on this?? There has to be some hardcore Mac overclocker out here.

:D

Z
 

cack01

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Location
San diego or UC Davis
If my memory is right, a G3/4 can be overclocked by changing a resistor. The resistor inturn will change the FSB. Have not seen anything on the G5 yet.
 

bulk88

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2003
Location
NYC
I would say that the powerpc is the most efficent processor made (after it is athlon). I wish that we could overclock them like AMDs or something. Its stupid Apple doesn't want you to get down and dirty under the hood. I guess it expects all it's customers to be stupid ignorent rich people that like the way it visually looks and the amount they paid for it, (to rich people, the more expensive the better, even if the product is worse than a cheaper one) and couldn't care less thats it a computer.
 

Captain Newbie

Senior Django-loving Member
It is possible to overclock G3 iMacs...by changing a series of jumpers on the oddly-shaped motherboard. Notice the 'Warranty Void if Seal Removed' tape over the jumper-block however...

It would be nice.

Speculation: Why Apple doesn't want you overclocking is manyfold, one possible explanation: Most of their processors are the same anyway, they don't want you buying the lowest-cost G4 and cranking its speeds way up.
 

dippy_skoodlez

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2003
Location
In front of my computer
Captain Newbie said:
It is possible to overclock G3 iMacs...by changing a series of jumpers on the oddly-shaped motherboard. Notice the 'Warranty Void if Seal Removed' tape over the jumper-block however...

It would be nice.

Speculation: Why Apple doesn't want you overclocking is manyfold, one possible explanation: Most of their processors are the same anyway, they don't want you buying the lowest-cost G4 and cranking its speeds way up.

very true ^_^ I have a powermac 133mhz, and would like to OC it :D Ill do some research!
 

fazz33

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Location
(CANADA) thornhill onatrio
i have a mac but i have no idea how to overclock i was woundering if i could! anyways before a LONG while ago overclocking a mac (like 100mhz mac the old stuff) would require a piece you gotta buy, and the peice would be able to control the cpu's speeds, but i bet now mac learned to stop third party companies from making stuff like that... but then again.... ... ... ... ... i wounder will there every be a easy cost and safe way to oc those crazy machines!
 

XWRed1

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
The blue and white Macs can be overclocked with jumpers.

Yes, I know, it is really hard.

http://www.xlr8yourmac.com has lots of info and documentation on things like that. Its a pretty leading edge site in those things, as far as Macs go. A while ago I was looking at a guide they had for putting a B&W Mac logic board into a normal atx case. Apple just had the standoffs in slightly different places so you had to drill new holes, and the psu had to have two wires swapped.

Really, nobody here should scoff at anything like that. Not if you call yourself a "serious" overclocker who does it for fun.
 

dippy_skoodlez

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2003
Location
In front of my computer
XWRed1 said:
The blue and white Macs can be overclocked with jumpers.

Yes, I know, it is really hard.

http://www.xlr8yourmac.com has lots of info and documentation on things like that. Its a pretty leading edge site in those things, as far as Macs go. A while ago I was looking at a guide they had for putting a B&W Mac logic board into a normal atx case. Apple just had the standoffs in slightly different places so you had to drill new holes, and the psu had to have two wires swapped.

Really, nobody here should scoff at anything like that. Not if you call yourself a "serious" overclocker who does it for fun.

I was looking for stuff for my 7600/132, and theres a PCI card that will run an AMD k6 in there! you can run windows at full speed! :D I want one of those! not made anymore though.. :(
 

stamasd

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Location
NYC
Yes you can o/c macs, although the method used for every single one is different. Other limitations are due to the fact that macs don't have a bios, they use different methods for booting (OpenFirmware lately). It has been mentioned before, but http://xlr8yourmac.com has a lot of info.

I have a PowerMac G3 (beige) which I'm overclocking from 233 MHz to 266MHz. I tried 300 as well but it wasn't stable. For the beige G3, it's done by means of changing jumpers on the motherboard which control the multiplier. I changed it from 3.5x (3.5x66=233) to 4x. I believe the values you can select go up to 7x or 7.5x. Here's a page telling you how to do it:
http://drivejumper.com/ClockupG3/homepage.html

BTW, this isn't an original beige G3 - I made it out of a G3 motherboard and components that I got off ebay, and put in a PC case following the "beige G3 in ATX case" guide on xlr8yourmac. Yes it works. Yes, it was a PITA to make the mobo fit in a PC case. :)

Another page listing other sites:
http://www.lowendmac.com/macdan/02/0624ek.html

Clock chipping (= modifying onboard oscillators):
http://homepage.mac.com/schrier/mhz.html

There's a japanese site of this crazy guy who does all sorts of hardware mods on Macs to overclock them. Including changing SMT components, crystal chips and such, everything to squeeze the last MHz from them. Let me look for the URL and I'll post it here.

Found it: http://www.bekkoame.ne.jp/~t-imai/maine.html

Is this hardcore enough for you? :D
 
Last edited:
OP
Zuzzz

Zuzzz

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
HARD CORE YESS!!. . . Is it enough?? Ask any Overclocker. . . NO!!! hehehe We want MORE !!!


Z


PS:::AWESOME link
 

MetalStorm

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Location
England
Yeah, those macs could do with some more speed, however, I find the easiest way to make them go faster is just to drop them out of a higher window...
 

stamasd

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Location
NYC
The clock chipping page that I posted a link to a few posts above has some tips for imacs.