• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Arctic Adhesive removal ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bubba

I need to remove the AS adhesive from my chipset.(I have way tooo much) how can I get it off or what should I use.Is the top of the chipset fairly durable?

Do you think alcohol or acetone would work?? I've never used the AS adhesive before, so I don't know how hard it is to get off. I got some gun cleaning stuff that might work, but I’m not sure what it would do to the chip.

lol you like that pick mouse dont ya

youd think the guy would be smart enought o whipe
the AS off. lol :p

If you have Arctic Silver Adhesive on your chipset, that's epoxy. It won't wipe off nor will a solvent cut it.

If you have Arctic Silver Adhesive on your chipset, that's epoxy. It won't wipe off nor will a solvent cut it.

Well, I guess it's time to get out the acid. hehe :p

Bubba said:
I need to remove the AS adhesive from my chipset.(I have way tooo much) how can I get it off or what should I use.Is the top of the chipset fairly durable?

You're sure that it's adhesive, right? Not the thermal grease, but the stuff you use to glue two things together?

I'd probably try using the razor blade very carefully. That would probably get a good amount off. Just make sure to keep the blade at a very shallow angle to prevent scratching up the chipset.

Try auto carb cleaner, that stuff will cut most anything, I used it to remove stubborn stuff from my gpu when I installed my corb, then cleaned it after with acetone(worked like a charm!!);)

Bubba - Where is it on the chipset? Is it on the surface of the chip or the leads? Is there a heatsink mounted to the chipset with epoxy?