• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Arctic Silver setting in?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kramerica

Registered
Joined
May 2, 2001
Hey guys, I just upgraded my cooler to a Glaciator. At first, I noticed that it was the same temperature as my stock hsf, around 51 degrees Celcius. Now a day later, I check back on it and it is at 38 degrees Celcius. Is a possible explanation for this that the arctic silver takes time to work its way into the two surfaces? Just food for thought. Later
 

war_child

Registered
Joined
Apr 20, 2001
yes I would like to know also my cak38 with artic silver should be here today currently have a 1ghz that won't over clock for nothing (most likely temps) idle temp 47C load 52C and that's with stock HSF, will the cak38 and the artic silver help am also installing a 120mm fan on the side what temp should I see all I want is the 1ghz to get to 1200 not asking much :) thanks a alot
 

puppet

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Kramerica......maybe you applied too much initially and the cpus' heat, causing increased viscosity, combined with the pressure of the HSF........made the AS2 "flow out" . It's thinner now and you have better contact with the core.
 

Phil

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Bolton, UK
I usually run without a fan for a couple of minutes which I noticed a while ago dropped my temps and this is even with a very thin layer.
 

Ridenow

Sneaky Moderator
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Location
Springfield, IL
Phil (Jun 20, 2001 12:24 p.m.):
I usually run without a fan for a couple of minutes which I noticed a while ago dropped my temps and this is even with a very thin layer.

Uhhhh.... Am I misunderstanding or did you just say that you power on your computer without a fan on the processor?
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Don't confuse Fan with HSF (HeatSink & Fan) assembly. Phil's a little smarter than that. ;D

Hoot
 

Vryce

Member
Joined
May 27, 2001
heh, I get nervous just thinking about turning the thing on w/out the fan..even if its a good HS...
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Once I get into Windows and Halt-On-Idle (HOI) kicks in, I can run for 20-30 minutes with just the breeze from the case fans. Admittedly, its an uneasy 20-30 minutes watching the digital thermometer. Now, if i'm running Prime95 Torture, it only takes about 3 minutes for me to give in. ;D

Hoot
 

ken257

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
AS does take some time to set even with a very thin layer. A day or two later temps drop by 1-2 degrees. In order for the drop you had I would guess that you applied much to thick a layer.