• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus a7v, cant raise FSB greater than 102 can anyone help =P

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Chicharon1

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
i have a Tbird 750 oc to 950. i wanna reach 1 gig. i wanna raise the FSB to maybe 106 to reach the gig. But i can only max my FSB to 102. i've read people with FSB as high as 120 on an a7v. how do u guyz do that? are there requirements before i could raise my FSB higher than 102?
 

sally211

Registered
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
lol on a a7v 120 fsb i havent seen that b4 and it be stable ive hardly seen em post at 110
 

asmodean

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
Finland
I've solved your problem... Your motherboard is based on VIA's KT133 chipset, which can't take very high FSB's.
I would recommend buying a new motherboard, Abit KT7A(-Raid, possibly) or Iwill KK266 (or something). Just make sure it has KT133A chipset, not the older KT133. Or then you can settle for 'just' the multiplier oc'ing.
 

Nagorak

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Not only can't the KT133 get very high, but the A7V seems to fare worse than all other mobos at FSB overclocking. If you want high FSB order up an A7v133, they can hit 150 FSB, no problem. A7V though just isn't going to give you much to work with :-(
 

Wega!

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2001
Location
Denmark!
Chicharon1 (Apr 05, 2001 07:44 p.m.):
i have a Tbird 750 oc to 950. i wanna reach 1 gig. i wanna raise the FSB to maybe 106 to reach the gig. But i can only max my FSB to 102. i've read people with FSB as high as 120 on an a7v. how do u guyz do that? are there requirements before i could raise my FSB higher than 102?

U are changing ur FSB in the bios, right?
U should give the dipswithes a try. I've got the A7V too, and I can only do 104MHz on the FSB if I change from the bios, but if I use the Jumper mode, I can do 111MHz on the FSB.
Try it, it can't hurt ya!
 
OP
C

Chicharon1

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
well.... sorry to tell u guyz... we still dont have the a7v133 here... i think i should wait something like another half year before that thing lands here.. we have the EPOX with KT133a chipset here... just landed... but i dont think i'll change my motherboard... i think i'll like with my Asus a7v for now.. i heard of a new KT board with USB 2.0 better than 133 any info on that?


Nagorak (Apr 06, 2001 04:56 a.m.):
Not only can't the KT133 get very high, but the A7V seems to fare worse than all other mobos at FSB overclocking. If you want high FSB order up an A7v133, they can hit 150 FSB, no problem. A7V though just isn't going to give you much to work with :-(
 
OP
C

Chicharon1

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
what version of ur mobo do u have? mine is rev 1.04 so i just set the DSW1-5 to 110mhz right?

Walter:-( (Apr 07, 2001 05:29 a.m.):
Chicharon1 (Apr 05, 2001 07:44 p.m.):
i have a Tbird 750 oc to 950. i wanna reach 1 gig. i wanna raise the FSB to maybe 106 to reach the gig. But i can only max my FSB to 102. i've read people with FSB as high as 120 on an a7v. how do u guyz do that? are there requirements before i could raise my FSB higher than 102?

U are changing ur FSB in the bios, right?
U should give the dipswithes a try. I've got the A7V too, and I can only do 104MHz on the FSB if I change from the bios, but if I use the Jumper mode, I can do 111MHz on the FSB.
Try it, it can't hurt ya!
 

Wega!

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2001
Location
Denmark!
Mine is a rev 1.02, And yes u should try the dipswithes, try lowering ur multiplier first. run something like 7x110MHz or 7.5x111MHz, just try to fool a little around with the settings.
U could also try to add a little extra cooling on the PLL, it helped me a little.
Let me know how it goes.
 
OP
C

Chicharon1

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
ic... in my 1.04 mobo the dipswitch are for 100,103, 105, 110, 133.. if i change the FSB by dipswitch nothing happens.. the clock is still set at 100 (9.5x100)... do i need to unlock the chip except for the L1? what do u think? if only i could run the FSB at 106mhz.. then i woule be at 1007 =P

Cerwin AKA Walter:-( (Apr 08, 2001 10:01 a.m.):
Mine is a rev 1.02, And yes u should try the dipswithes, try lowering ur multiplier first. run something like 7x110MHz or 7.5x111MHz, just try to fool a little around with the settings.
U could also try to add a little extra cooling on the PLL, it helped me a little.
Let me know how it goes.
 

AZZKICKER

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
North Little Rock, Arkansas
lets see if i can help you

bios 1004d is the best bios ive used for OCing and performance

make sure your jumper on the board it set to jumper mode and not jumper free

with my A7V i had to run my I/O voltage @ 3.5 volts at any fsb setting above defalt so try that

also i hope your useing a good heatsink/fan and running temps below 50C

use thermal paste and not thermal pads

good case cooling and a 300+ watt power supply

hope this helps
 
OP
C

Chicharon1

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
ok... for everyone's info.. this is my system...
300w ATX Powersupply.
FOP38 w/ grease (we dont have arctic silver here!!)
Athlon TB 750 Green Core (o/c to 950)
Asus A7V Rev 1.04 w/ BIOS 1007
3dfx Voodoo Banshee AGP
2 Maxtor HDD

Case cooling 1 fan blowing air in. another blowing air out. all cables tied properly together!

Misc. Info:
1 Realtek 8029AS Ethernet card
256MB SDRAM
1 Sony E140 CDRW
1 AOpen 10x Slot In DVDROM
Yamaha 754 PCI Sound card

Room temp is 30C (we are in a tropical country). Case temp 35C Processor 47C to 51C

About d BIOS, when i bought the mobo it used the 1004D bios but i changed it to 1007. I/O Voltage is now at 3.3 but i tried 3.65 both no go for 1gig.. i tried 105FSB on BIOS, no go... even DIPSWITCH 105mhz on revision 1.04 Mobo still no go =( what else... hmm..

so i've already has most of the things u recommend except for the jumperfree situation.. i just put it at 133mhz in the past... i tried 110 on the dipswitch but the thing still post at 100mhz x 9.5 ... do i need to unlock another set of bridges??

AZZKICKER (Apr 08, 2001 10:40 p.m.):
lets see if i can help you

bios 1004d is the best bios ive used for OCing and performance

make sure your jumper on the board it set to jumper mode and not jumper free

with my A7V i had to run my I/O voltage @ 3.5 volts at any fsb setting above defalt so try that

also i hope your useing a good heatsink/fan and running temps below 50C

use thermal paste and not thermal pads

good case cooling and a 300+ watt power supply

hope this helps