• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

asus p4s533

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

m.d.

hey i'm new to overclocking, so feel free to jump all over me if i'm wrong.
i'm running my above board with a 1.8 p4 and a radeon 8500
i am using 3dmark to gauge my overclock and my best results so far were 9975 at 125 fsb with a 3/4 memory setting which works out to be 166mghz(i have 1 stick of pc2700 512) while doing this the agp/pci is approx 42mghz.
when i bump it up to 133 fsb my marks drop to about 9300 the memory is at about 177 which i have run before. i'm wondering is it possible that the pci bus which sets it self back to 33 is responsible for some of the loss. But i also have the problem at 130 fsb which the pci is in the high 40's. my vcore voltage is untouched. what should i do next?

o1die

I had to bump up the cpu vcore to 1.625 to get my 1.8a stable at 133 fsb. I use pc2100 generic memory set at 2.7 volts using the onboard jumper and the 4:5 ratio for overclocking. You can also run your pc2700 memory at 2.7 if needed. Your cpu temps will only rise 2-3 degrees celcius. My range is 36-54 celcius, depending on the time of year and what games I'm running. I have an enlight desktop case with 300 watt ps and one exhaust slot fan. It's very quiet.

mirko_3

hey, i have that same motherboard and video card:)
i really don't know what could be the cause of the lower score in 3dmark; I don't really think that a 33 AGP frequency should perfrom worse that 42... are you sure you didn't change any other settings (maybe cas latency)? What about other benchmarks, do they give you a lower score with 133 FSB or is it only 3dmark? I don't know id it happens with my mobo as well, as I have always kept it a 133 bus; If I have time I'll test it...

OP
M

m.d.

ya i'm going to have to test with sandra