• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ASUS ROG Strix X470-F restarts or hangs with DRAM Q LED lit

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PorkPieHat

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Location
DeepInaHartaTexas
ASUS ROG Strix X470-F restarts or hangs with DRAM Q LED lit

This build is an ASUS ROG Strix X470-F with a 2600X and G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX. The problem I'm having is that I get either sporadic restarts or system hangs with the DRAM Q LED indicating a memory error. When a spontaneous reboot occurs, system log messages include unexpected power shutdowns. The first step I took was to replace the PSU with a known good unit, which did not solve the problem.

I am currently running a newly installed BIOS 5809 and settings have been left at default. In this condition, I have not seen an occurrence in 10 days. Prior to this I had used the BIOS EZ Tuning wizard and AI Tweaker to make whatever changes the BIOS suggested. When in this config, I experience the problem described above. These events occur at random times, sometimes a few per day and sometimes once or twice a week. There isn't any one specific application in use at the time of failure, as they occur when running different apps.

I ran MemTest 86 for several days and nothing failed during the tests.

I'm not sure I'm seeing signs of hardware failure but I'm out of my element here. I see several BIOS memory options that have been altered following the EZ Tuning pass, but I'm not about to make further changes without advice. I have numerous BIOS screen dumps and reports from CPUID and HWInfo64 that contain the same information if that is helpful.

Can I get some help in troubleshooting this beast?

Thanks much.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Ez tuning is overclocking and wasn't stable is my guess. I'd imagine the hardware is fine. Try to enable xmp ( only, no ez tuning anything) to get the memory up to speed.
 

bmwbaxter

Joined
Jun 9, 2010
clear cmos,
load optimized defaults, reset.
Enable xmp, reset.

First gen ryzen wasn't great for memory speeds. I can barely get mine to run 2933, was getting the same stability issues. So might not even be able to get fully stable at 3200.
 
OP
P

PorkPieHat

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Location
DeepInaHartaTexas
Thanks for the replies, all.

I set up the system using bmwbaxter's instructions and if I can get through a week or so without a failure then I can call it good. Looking through past system logs, the problem occurs within 3 days of he previous incident. I'll post the results in about that time (or sooner if the unthinkable happens).
 

RJARRRPCGP

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
No reboot due to a bugcheck? This sounds more like a brief loss of voltage. Looks suspiciously more like a bad solder joint, a faulty MOSFET, bad cap(s) or bad connectors in RAM slot(s). Looks like you should get a good multimeter, if experienced.
 
OP
P

PorkPieHat

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Location
DeepInaHartaTexas
So far the system has been stable without the EZ Tune overclock and DRAM set at 3200 after enabling DOCP. Initially I suspected the PSU but a known good replacement did not solve the problem. If I continue to see reboots and hangs, I'll have to take a closer look at the mobo while it's still under warranty. But in the meantime I'm cautiously optimistic.