• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AT7-max2 owners

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pby5cat

Member
Joined
May 27, 2002
Location
california
did u get the "SERILLEL" parallel to serial ATA converters and have u any problems with the supplied temp monitering program? also, has any one mounted an AX-7 on this board and it fits?
 

Matrix78

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Hazel Park, MI
i got the board, i got 1 converter with it, (cheap *******s) and as far as the temp program it wont load on my system i dont know why, so i just use MBM5

is there a good way to test the HD data transfer speed? i wana see if there is any diff between using the SATA or just the normal ATA133 connection
 

rdytorave

Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2002
I have an AT7

I have an AT7 Max. It's not the Max2 but I doubt the layout has changed much. The stock monitoring program works ok. I have an AX7 and it fit just fine using the 3 pronged clips.
 

SafirXP

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Location
Bangladesh
You won't find much of a difference on using an ATA133 drive or even a SATA drive using that controller. That Marvel controller is actually a converter of SATA to PATA! Actual SATA controllers won't be available until next year, from what I've heard that is.
 

Matrix78

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Hazel Park, MI
so i'm probably wasting my time having the SATA drivers load up since all i have hooked to the SATA is a WD 40GB ATA100 ????
 

SafirXP

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Location
Bangladesh
No you're not wasting your time! Most of the people don't know what I just told ya! So doesn't matter. SATA data cable looks better than an ATA rounded cable & the name 'SerialATA' sounds cool, so hook it up... always think about the w00tage factor! ;)

This should explain what's happening: http://www.dansdata.com/rr1520.htm
 

Sonny

Senior TIFOSI
Joined
Aug 3, 2001
Location
VARIANTE ASCARI
[XPerienceD] said:
That Marvel controller is actually a converter of SATA to PATA! Actual SATA controllers won't be available until next year, from what I've heard that is.

I think your confused on how Serial ATA will be introduced to the public. HERE is some relevant information on the subject.

Will there be a performance gain with Serial ATA 1.0 compared to ATA133/100? Yes there is when True Serial ATA hard drives are used & to date there is only one manufacturer. Seagate Barracuda V 2MB & 8MB Cache Serial ATA are the only one avilable. PROOF OF PERFORMANCE HERE:burn:
 

Sonny

Senior TIFOSI
Joined
Aug 3, 2001
Location
VARIANTE ASCARI
Matrix78 said:
so i'm probably wasting my time having the SATA drivers load up since all i have hooked to the SATA is a WD 40GB ATA100 ????

Why would you use a Parallel ATA HDD on a Serial Controller via converter if you have normal IDE Controllers? Not the best choice I would think.
 

Matrix78

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Hazel Park, MI
Sonny said:


Why would you use a Parallel ATA HDD on a Serial Controller via converter if you have normal IDE Controllers? Not the best choice I would think.

as was said by XPerienceD, just because i can :D
 

Matrix78

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Hazel Park, MI
how do u figure slower performance, if i'm hooking a ATA100 up to a port that can do Max of 150MB/s then where am i loseing out? sure i have to load one extra driver to make it all work but thats not going to affect performance in anyway noticable
 

Matrix78

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Hazel Park, MI
Sonny said:
Benchmark it.

never benched my HD before and i havent seen anyone elses so i dont have anything to really base this on so let me know. . . . .


HD_Bench.jpg
 

SafirXP

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Location
Bangladesh
Pretty good I guess. But unless there are latency issues with the current SATA controller, I guess there's no problem!

I've a question for AT7-Max2 owners! I'm getting mine on Monday most probably. I'll hook up two 60GB 7200rpm Maxtor drives on the ATA133 ports on the RAID controller and setup a RAID-0 array. I've two more 40GB drives, which I'll setup as Primary Master & Slave. But I wanna know if I can attach one of the drives to the RAID controller (but not in the RAID0 array) using the SATA port? I wan't it to use the SATA port, but excluded from the RAID0 array! Is it possible?
 

Matrix78

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Hazel Park, MI
yeah, u shouldnt have a problem with that, i only have the one drive hooked to the SATA and 2 more hooked to the old ATA66

ya get a whole bios menu to mess with to configure your RAID telling it what to include and what not to