• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Athlon 64 X2 5200+ OC'ing questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tomekks

Hello! This is my first time posting here, although I've used information of this site some time ago already.

I am kind of new to overclocking and I started to research, what frequencies can my processor reach. I discovered that by default, it's at the 2.6GHz mark.
I messed around a little in the bios at a menu called: MB Intelligent Tweaker.
In that menu, there are these functions and values def/now:
CPU Freequency - 200/208
PCIE Clock - 100
CPU Clock Ratio - Auto/x13,5 - max.
Robost Graphics Booster - Auto
Chipset voltage: Normal
DDR2 Voltage - Auto
CPU Voltage - 1.3500

With this configuration I got this @ 46t:

3dk47f6x0fej7zqq4my9.png

Now I have a few questions:
1) Should I stay at this or try to change anything more? When I put the CPU Freequency @ 210, it hangs and doesn't even load POST. What more can be done with my porcessor?
2) What will happen if I set the Graphics Booster to Fast or Turbo? Does it controls the integrated graphics or will it change something for my video card?
3) What happens if DDR2 or chipset voltage is increased?
4) Will increasing PCI-E Clock by 1 or 2 change anything in performance of the CPU?

My Configuration.
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+
RAM: 2.0GB Single-Channel DDR2 @ 401MHz (5-5-5-15)
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. GA-M56S-S3 (Socket M2)
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 2900 PRO (ATI)

Thank you in an advance. [:

So, to allow the CPU overclock to go higher you will need to increase the CPU voltage. The big question is what are your core temps running now and will the core temp allow you to run higher CPU voltage. I assume you are using the stock cooler that came with the CPU.