• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Athlon64 Machine

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

plbowler

Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Location
Ahhh, thats better...
Athlon64 2.0Ghz

Asus Motherboard for AMD Athlon64 Processors, Model "K8V Deluxe"

Coolermaster CPU Cooler for Athlon64 & Opteron, Model:SK8-7I53A

anything I should know?

anybody made one these yet?
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Sorry bud, I've been reading this section every day and I haven't seen many threads at all on the Athlon 64 3x00+.

My guess is people are waiting for socket 939 mobos to come out even though they may not be here for months and when they arrive they won't exactly be cheap.

They're all going for the nForce2 socket A's now because of the enormous price difference and because of Socekt 754 not being able to take future dual channel chips.

In your search, please post back here in your thread if you should find out basics such as
- how much faster are they when compared to Athlon XPs running with same GHz.
- how overclockable are they with what kind of cooling.
- basic q's such as what the multipliers are, are they locked, are there any mobos that are PCI locked, etc.

If the mobos are not PCI locked which I don't think they are, you can't raise the FSB too much outside specs...

Please post how much does this combo cost now.

http://www.c627627.com/AMD/AthlonXP/
 
Last edited:

DaveB

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
I've got one as posted in my sig below. I'd recommend the Zalman CPNS7000A-Cu (which is the all copper version) for cooling. The Albatron is a great board and it works well with the HyperX PC3500. Dunno why you'd want to wait for socket 939, this setup is very fast and stable. I can't comment on the Asus board, but from what I've read it seems pretty decent.
 

Feuerkampf

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Location
Chapel Hill, NC
c627627 said:


In your search, please post back here in your thread if you should find out basics such as
- how much faster are they when compared to Athlon XPs running with same GHz.
- how overclockable are they with what kind of cooling.
- basic q's such as what the multipliers are, are they locked, are there any mobos that are PCI locked, etc.



They are a lot faster than Athlon XP's at the same speed, with my Athlon XP 1700+ @ 2.4 220x11 with the same components below the highest 3DMark I could get waswas 18500, with the Athlon 64 3200+ I am getting 22500, thats a massive increase with a CPU change.

It seems to be fairly overclockable, I am at 2.2 at the moment, the problem that is keeping me from going higher is caused by Chaintech, the BIOS the board shipped with doesn't allow for manual adjustment of memory timings, my memory defaults to 6-3-3-2 and it just won't go above 220 and be stable. I will be able to tell you more after the new BIOS is released any day now. I have heard of people getting as high as 2.4-2.5 with air. At the moment there is a dearth of good socket 754 heatsinks so I will be using the stock cooler until someone like Thermalright or Swiftech release a good setup.

The multiplier is set to 10. Some boards can change it, but none of the big names I believe. My Chaintech board cannot change it. The FX has an unlocked multiplier. Default voltage is 1.5. Nforce3 boards are "supposed" to be locked and there has been some controversy over that. As far as I have found my boards PCI bus is locked as there was practically no change in frequencies when the bus is set from 200 to 220. According to Chaintech the board is locked.

Hope this helps

I can post benchmarks if you would like just let me know what you want to see.
 
OP
P

plbowler

Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Location
Ahhh, thats better...
ahh, thanks.

newegg had that setup I listed for $550, not too shabby. I got a guy at work with DEEP pockets using a p2 200 at home (post-divorce).

he was shopping DELL (puke) and Sony (eeh), when I told him I could make him a PC for $1800 that NOBODY can touch, he's game.

any pitfalls (incompatabilities with memory etc.) I should know about?

looking at PC3500 (that 400mhz, right?)
Sata 160 WD
ATI 9600 Pro
SB Audigy Platinum pro 2
 

DaveB

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
PC3500 = DDR 434

Give you a little headroom for overclocking.
 

Overlag

Registered
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Location
Essex, UK
plbowler said:
Oops, mobo only runs memory to 400 mhz, looks like PC3200 then.

that doesnt matter, as the other poster said PC3500 will give you more head room

But, if your buying Cosair PC3200 LLPT modules your already getting PC3500 :)