• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AXP and Durons.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Anaxagoras1986

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Is there a significant difference between the Durons and AXPs in folding? Is it one of the things where the cache doesnt make a huge difference or what?
 

Wedo

Senior Kitty Power!
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Location
Lost Angeles
I think there was a huge debate on this a long while ago. If you take an XP and a Duron of similar clock speed the XP performed slightly better. However, at that time you could OC a Duron to a higher clock and therefore a faster folder.

However, now the XP's are clocking twice that of Durons so there's really no competition anymore.

Wedo
 
Last edited:

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
The new 1.4 & 1.6 Durons are doing 2.3-2.4 or more Ghz... so I think The Athlon XP's have some fairly good competition. Add to that the possiblilty of unlocking all the cache, damn good chip for the small amount of money!

oh and Wedo:

If you take an XP and a Duron of similar clock speed the AMD on performed slightly better.

I think you meant to say the XP... they are both AMD's my friend ;)
 
OP
A

Anaxagoras1986

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Thanks for the info. What about Celeries? Do they do well for this?





Wow K6s going 600Mhz? Damn!
 

Vampiregabe

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Location
Economics books, Norfolk, Virginia
I am going out on a limb here, but ...

Even with a faster Cel, you are most likely NOT going to beat a well overclocked Duron (thorton).

Anandtech


And since most Durons can unlock the extra 256 cache and hit 2.0 - 2.3 Ghz, a Celeron is just that, celery.

[shameless hijack]
I think a more interesting question is why do my tbreds b's([email protected] & [email protected]) out perform my barton ([email protected] 2.3) at folding and nothing else...:eek:
[/shameless hijack]
 

Wedo

Senior Kitty Power!
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Location
Lost Angeles
Yeah, some take 12 hours, some take a day. Depends on the WU, cpu speed, and how much you are using your computer while it folds.

Wedo
 
OP
A

Anaxagoras1986

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Well I had it on all day, just started :p and then I left mine on last night and it was just barely finished when I got up. I use the comp a fair amount so maybe that is why.

Wow your dually Barton must fold like a banshee!!??
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Duallies are not really faster, they are just able to fold 2 WU's at the same time.
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Nearly doulbe production, but only if you fold 2 WU's at a time, if you only fold one, it will still take the same time as a sigle cpu system.
 
OP
A

Anaxagoras1986

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Yes I have heard that before. But I am talking about what his machine can do. And in that case it is pretty damn fast for folding!


What does uncapped mean for a K6-2? The aluminum heatspreader removed?
 
Last edited:
OP
A

Anaxagoras1986

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Well I asked my school if i could set up some clients....they said no. It was worth a try. They claimed that it would bog thier systems down too much. :(