• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bad overclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
hi
im currently running on this specs:
abit nf7-s rev2.0 beta bios 1.4 ( didnt like the retail one)
2100+ AXDA2100DUT3C AIUHB0302TPCW
512 kingston hyper-x 2700 @ 215 (stable)
volcano 11
temperatures running @ 2000 mhz - 35 idle, 42 full

my problem is that I cant go past the 2100 mhz.. I already set the vcore to 1.85, but it still wont get stable... currently im burning in at 9.5 x 215, vcore 1.8 (lowered it down cause i got a siren sometimes when higher) and vdimm 2.8 (gets to 2.9, abit overvolts it).
if I set the vcore higher it wont post, and starts that siren, but the temperatures arent that high... and I can't get higher mhz.... already tried lowering to 166 and 200 fsb, but no way. :/
is that just a bad chip or is there something i could do to make it improve?
 

woods

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Fort Worth Texas
sounds like the chip cant handle the fsb. I dont know why it wouldn't but it sounds like it. 1.8v should be good up to 2300 or higher. could be your mem timings. maybe a little of the magic smoke got out.:D
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
so its a PSU problem? my voltages seem ok...

the only one who seems to change too much is the -12 and the -5... is that a problem?
 

Milkman

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Location
NH Biodiesel master
I found my Aiuhb 2100+ 0302 liked higher multi's and lower Fsb much better, I ran at 166x14 for a long time at 1.8 volts max and it was very stable.
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
JetMech said:
2700 memory at 200+fsb? what is the memory voltage?
ill try that.. btw
its Kingston Hyper-X 2700
running @ 6-3-3-2.5 @ 2.8 vdimm (shows 2.9 on mbm)
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
lol i just tried 133 x 17, it posted on windows but failed on prime... I guess i got a bad chip :/
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
why do I get this siren when i try higher clocks? that sucks, my temps arent bad... 45 full load isnt bad
 

Audioaficionado

Sparkomatic Moderator
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
That newer 1.4 BIOS doesn't work well with all multipliers. I lost 'em all below 11. Maybe you could try the 1.2 again and just subtract 10c off your core temps.
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
boX_BR said:
why do I get this siren when i try higher clocks? that sucks, my temps arent bad... 45 full load isnt bad
you mean it doesnt get stable with all multipliers? wich ones are not correct? cause I dont fell well when seeing 50+ temperatures :/
 

Audioaficionado

Sparkomatic Moderator
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Not for my setup. <see sig & profile>

I lost one of my favorites 200/2000. Stable at 1.5v and ran FAH WUs like crazy.

Others have been having problems too.

Search the Abit AMD mobo section for the threads.
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
hmm currently running at 215x10.5 ( 1.85 vcore)... it seems stable... I think burn in really works *woot* :)
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
boX_BR said:
hmm currently running at 215x10.5 ( 1.85 vcore)... it seems stable... I think burn in really works *woot* :)
1.4 ;) I dont like that high temperatures
 

jonspd

Super Speedy Senior
Joined
Jan 18, 2003
This may or maynot have been asked what si your vdd @ and also what are you temp's when running prime @ it's highiest stable overclock.


Keep in mind a volocano 11 isn't the best for a hsf when it come's to overclocking your cpu.
 
OP
B

boX_BR

Registered
Joined
May 12, 2003
jonspd said:
This may or maynot have been asked what si your vdd @ and also what are you temp's when running prime @ it's highiest stable overclock.


Keep in mind a volocano 11 isn't the best for a hsf when it come's to overclocking your cpu.
I live in brazil and it's very hard to get a better heatsink.
Temps at prime are @ 45... vdd 1.7