• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bad Power Supply or Motherboard?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Alright...
Asrock P43Twins1600 MB (1 year old)
4 GB (2X2) DDR2 800 OCZ Ram (1 year old)
8800GTS BFG Vid (2 years old)
650 Watt Corsair PS (2 years old)
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Month or so ago I plugged my wife's iPod Nano with a FM transmitter add-on into the front USB port on the computer to charge. Computer immediately let out an awful screeching noise from speakers and locked up completely. I was surfing the web at the time, not doing anything taxing. It was totally unresponsive so I hit the ol reset button and the computer restarted but the video card would not display anything. Unplugged USB port from MB and reset bios using jumper, computer came back to life.

Last night, playing Bioshock. Locked up and emitted same screeching noise. Reset button, no video. Reset bios jumper, again no video. Like the computer is sticking pre-post. Now it won't even power-up on the MB...

Power supply or motherboard?
I will plug into and test PS with my test box tonight after work, but if you guys have a majority opinion here I want to get something ordered and shipped today so I can get back up and running, lots of school work needs to be done (thank God I use a D, E and F drive.... everything is backed up safe and sound as of yesterday...)
The reason why I suspect the MB at all is because it all started with with iPod USB thing...
 
Last edited:
OP
D

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
let me edit my post in response.... It did turn over initially, now it's not doing anything at all..
 
OP
D

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
So.... came home and pushed the power button... sprang to life but still no video card output. No hard-drive activity at all either, which leads me to believe the board is not posting...
Got out my PS tester (Tenma), all rails for everything look solid on the PSU.

Pulled out my old trusty MSI MB and 4800 X2 AMD and it posts fine with video (nothing else hooked up, just vid and PS).

I'm going to go back and unplug everything off of my Asrock board and give it a chance unloaded but right now it looks like my MB is shot.... Any skt 775 suggestions?

Edit: Asrock board hooked back up, new stick of ram to remove that variability, vid card installed. No post. Looks like I'm getting a new board.
 
Last edited:

deed

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Not everyone can view the classifieds...

Anyway, most likely that sounds like the PSU. I would replace that first.

Didnt he just test the psu and said it is running fine? Just put the psu in another system and if it works it should be the mobo right?
 
OP
D

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Not everyone can view the classifieds...

Anyway, most likely that sounds like the PSU. I would replace that first.
No problem seeing the classifieds, that board doesn't interest me.

Mad: you really think it's the PSU? Even after I tested it on my PSU tester and it booted my old MB fine? I'm really thinking it's the MB based off of the original problem (plugged in iPod charger to USB and it siezed the computer), I was thinking the bad charger zapped the Southbridge... (loud sound emitted from speakers at lock-up).

I may go with both for fun.... My Asrock has always been a pain in the butt handling 8gb of ram.
 

madhatter256

Special Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Location
CFL
No problem seeing the classifieds, that board doesn't interest me.

Mad: you really think it's the PSU? Even after I tested it on my PSU tester and it booted my old MB fine? I'm really thinking it's the MB based off of the original problem (plugged in iPod charger to USB and it siezed the computer), I was thinking the bad charger zapped the Southbridge... (loud sound emitted from speakers at lock-up).

I may go with both for fun.... My Asrock has always been a pain in the butt handling 8gb of ram.

crap. i must have overlooked that last post... if the PSU powered up an old motherboard just fine then the problem does point to the motherboard or possibly RAM.
 
OP
D

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
crap. i must have overlooked that last post... if the PSU powered up an old motherboard just fine then the problem does point to the motherboard or possibly RAM.

I thought it might have been that, I wanted to be sure before I dropped 100 bucks! I dropped in a spare ram stick last night and had the same no post results. Thanks for all the input guys, went with a Gigabyte ep45, arrives Thursday.
 
OP
D

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
New MB arrived and installed, booted from original harddrive with no formatting needed.... gotta love Win 7. I'm backing up my steam games that I recently purchased so I don't have to re-download them then will format since I am switching up my hard drives anyhow... The new Gigabyte board seems to handle the 8gb of ram more comfortably then the Asrock did so it's a good thing..

Thanks for all the input guys!