• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best buy AMD CPU at the moment is?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gakkuken

Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Location
USA
amd fans... please direct me to the new and best buy amd cpu available right now.

i left amd maret for a little bit now, and the last time i remember the 1700+ and 2100+ thoroghbred are the killer money can buy.

what's hot now?

barton 2500?

thx!!
btw, mobo wise still nforce2 right?
 

Quailane

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Barton is guaranteed locked. I don't like it as I can't go as high as I want, but some feel it is ok. I like my duron a lot though. It just screams for overclocking. Right now I'd have to say that there isn't really a must buy chip. It just depends on what you want.
 

Quailane

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Oh yeah, unless you are totally cheapo, the nforce2 ultra is the mobo of choice, although they have some very cheaply priced ones.
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
If your RAM can go into the 200s FSB, it's the 2500+ but if it can't, it's the 2100+ since 2500+ may be multiplier locked and 2100+s appear to be all multiplier unlocked.
 
OP
gakkuken

gakkuken

Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Location
USA
Quailane said:
Barton is guaranteed locked. I don't like it as I can't go as high as I want, but some feel it is ok. I like my duron a lot though. It just screams for overclocking. Right now I'd have to say that there isn't really a must buy chip. It just depends on what you want.

which duron chip are you using? and what to look for?
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
if you are looking for better performance than what you have in your sig you're going to need A64.

the A64 3000+ is 215.

otherwise you'll be downgrading or at best matching what you have.

btw thats a killer OC for a 2.0A :eek:
 

Krowa 02

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Location
Long Island New York
Maxvla said:
if you are looking for better performance than what you have in your sig you're going to need A64.

the A64 3000+ is 215.

otherwise you'll be downgrading or at best matching what you have.

btw thats a killer OC for a 2.0A :eek:

What Max said is on the money. Although the 3000+ A64 isnt super cheapo, its still priced competitivly against the other p4s going against it, and the 3000+ pretty much ganks them, slightly oc it and your going to do even more ganking.
 

Fleck

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Barton 2600+.

Edit: Just noticed you asked about motherboard. My recommendtation: Epox 8RDA3+.
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Arkaine23 and Fleck seem to imply that any 2600+ is a better choice than 2500+.

Why?

Since they didn't say anything about them being locked and were not talking about specific chips, on average they're the same chip, except 2600+ has more of a $ markup.
 

Fleck

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Yeah but you're bound to get a locked CPU these days so you might as well spend the extra 10 bucks and go with one that will give you a higher over clock for the same bus speeds right?
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Right... except if your RAM can hit 220 FSB in which case it's unlikely you'll hit 2530 MHz and it's more likely you can hit 2420 MHz.

2500+ [220] x 11 = 2420
2600+ [220] x 11.5 = 2530 so you'll need like [210] x 11.5 instead

In other words, you'll need to lower the FSB, and higher FSB=good.

Either way, yeah, it depends on how high your RAM can go on your setup.
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
DaMouse said:
Barton 2500+ is THE best. up the FSB to 200 and you get a 3200+ :).

Yea, but using that analogy, you'd have a '3400+' instead of the 3200+ with the 2600+ at 200 FSB, wouldn't you?

...and 3400+ is better than any Barton money can buy since it doesn't exist commercially.
 

Josebmw

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2003
Location
USA
I'd also pick out the 2600+ over the 2500+ for that extra .5x multi if I was getting a cpu. It's worth the extra 10-20 bucks.
 

Quailane

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
I'd settle for ANY unlocked thoroughbred B cpu or B duron (like I have). They can go WAY higher with good cooling than any locked barton, except maybe 3000+ 333fsb, but still probably even then. I don't buy that extra 448k of l2 cache that the barton has over my duron. You get to a point where top clock cycles are what matters most, and tbred b's on average reach a higher Mhz. The extra 256k over the tbred probably gives it an extra 100mhz over the tbred in some apps, but from what I saw about the A64 overclocking on the main page, it just keeps me believing that cache is more of a secondary player to top speed. Take the P4 3.2EE. With it's 2.5mb of l2+3 cache at full speed, it sure doesn't improve performance that much. A 3.4Ghz non EE is better than an EE. But they overclock the same so the EE is the better chip hands down. With the barton, I don't think it goes as high as the tbred b.
 

Quailane

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Oh-btw. Tbred B's are WAY cheaper than bartons. The cheapest tbred B core is less than half the price of the cheapest barton core, assuming you can't mod l2 cache from the locked thortons. Tbred B durons are still being bought new unlocked, though a few people got locked ones. Mine is a 1.4Ghz duron on brown pcb. Week 38. I bought for $41 at newegg. Now only $38. Barton 2500+, stepdad bought for $90 a few weeks ago.