• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

BIG PROBLEM with RADEON 9700 Pro

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mymak

Registered
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Windows XP Pro recognized my new Radeon 9700 Pro as two cards - one AGP (primary) and one PCI (secondary). I have disabled this phantom PCI card in Device manager, but hardware acceleration still doesn't work, performance is very poor, DxDiag says acceleration is disabled and doesn't allow me to enable it. My hardware configuration is in my signature.

Can anybody help me please? Any idea is welcomed.
 

Rav

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Location
Philthadelphia
The second listing is for the secondary output on the card, don't worry about it and leave it enabled. If you are having problems try downloading the newest drivers from ATI.

-Rav
 
OP
M

Mymak

Registered
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Rav: Thanx for info. I have downloaded driver 7.79 beta - should I to use it? I hope new driver will help me, but I'm afraid I will need to flash new bios into my board (still using old version bd7293), and then will occur another problem - waste all data from my Raid - because new Abit bios brings new version of Raid bios. Unfortunately I have not another space for data backup. :(

Anyway I will try new Ati driver first.
 
OP
M

Mymak

Registered
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Deathknight: I'm not sure about this - I think main of drivers are installed from included Abit's CD, except Intel application accelerator. What driver can be responsible for this problem?
 

Slayn

Member
Joined
May 12, 2001
Location
Huntington Beach
Do not use those beta drivers... just go to ati.com and download the newest drivers for you card there, which is the catalyst 2.3, and if that doesnt work, use the previous driver page and use 2.2.
 
OP
M

Mymak

Registered
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Slayn: Currently I have installed official drivers v7.75.
 
OP
M

Mymak

Registered
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Now I restarted PC and got this warning:

The ATI Control Panel failed initialize because no ATI driver is installed, or ATI driver not working properly. The ATI Control Panel will now exit. :(

Btw listing two cards in Device manager is sure OK? I never heard even red about this situation in other forums.
 

HotKoala

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Location
Between Heaven and Hell
The secondary 9700 input there is a lil trick to get around the WinNT limitation of non-independant dual displays. I really don't know why they didn't put this in other card's drivers because they have it right there.

Wait, the 9000 Pro might also have it. All other in between don't.