• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

-bigadv checklist

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ChasR

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2004
Location
Atlanta
These are the requirements to receive -bigadv WUs:

1. 8 or more physical or logical cores.

2. 0.15 GB of ram per core dedicated to folding

3. You must have the Linux Client v6.34, or the Intel/OSX v6.34 client, available from the main download page.

4. You must have a passkey

5. You must select big WUs in config

6. Advanced Methods must be turned off in advanced configuration

7. The proper start string is -bigadv -smp -verbosity 9 (order doesn't matter) either in extra parameters of advanced configuration or in the start string. The client will default to using all detected cpu cores. You can use -smp X, where X = number of SMP threads to run. Setting this number to number of cpu cores - 1, will allow cpu cycles for GPU clients and maximize -bigadv + gpu production. Prime numbers default to the next lower non-prime number of threads (most of the time and the WU will crash if it doesn't).

8. Successfully complete 10 a3 or a5 WUs within the preferred deadline with your passkey to be eligible for the bonus. If you've folded the requisite qualifying WUs on any machine with your passkey, the QRB will be awarded on your first -bigadv WU. If you have never used a passkey, fold 10 a3 WUs, after adding the passkey, before adding the -bigadv flag.

9. To qualify and remain qualified for the QRB (Quick Return Bonus), a client must have successfully returned >80% of its work units within the preferred deadline.

10. If you're running in a VMware Player 3.0.0 VM (higher versions won't run 8 threads on an i7): you MUST edit the VMware Configuration File (.vmx) and change numvcpus from "4" to "8" and add priority.ungrabbed="idle"; You need 2200 MB of ram to run a full unix distro, 2100 MB for a light distro.

11. The -bigadv 12 WUs require 12 physical or logical cores and reporting > 2800 MB to the Assignment Server.
 
Last edited:

dylskee

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Location
Central MA
This should be stuck! :cool:
Could have saved myself a lot of time if I had all of this info in one place. You might want to mention that you'll need to have 10 A2 WUs finished before you're eligible for the -bigadv points.
 

ihrsetrdr

Señor Senior Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Close to the San Andreas Fault
These are the requirements to recieve -bigadv WUs:

1. 8 or more physical or logical cores.

2. .5 GB of ram per core dedicated to folding

3. You must have Client 6.24R3

4. You must have a passkey

5. You must select big WUs in config

6. Advanced Methods must be turned off in advanced configuration

7. The proper start string is -bigadv -smp X -verbosity 9 (order doesn't matter) either in extra paramaters of advanced configuration or in the start string. X = number of FAH processes to run. You can set this number to number of cpu cores - 1, to allow roon rfor multiple GPU clients.

8. If you're running in a VMware Player 3.0.0 VM: you MUST edit the VMware Configuration File (.vmx) and change numvcpus from "4" to "8" and add priority.ungrabbed="idle"; You need 4300 MB of ram to run a full unix distro, 4200 MB for a light distro

9. Succesfully complete 10 WUs within the preferred deadline with your passkey to be eligible for the bonus. (thanks dylskee)

On the off chance that a long ago fixed problem has reentered the scene with this client, I suggest you enter an amount of memory to report to the assignment server during config. This isn't necessary if your client.cfg shows a memory amount.


The location of the .vmx file has eluded me, I only have a file called ".VMXF" which is in the directory where my .vmdk disc image resides. I did open the .VMXF file with notepad, but did not find any numvcpus configuration. ???
 

CJ-5

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
I also am trying to find the .vmx file to edit.

My host OS is Win7 Home Premium 32 bit with VMware 3.0.0 in Ubuntu 8.04 with all updates.

I found VMware-vmx here: C:\Program Files\VMware\VMplayer\VMware-vmx.

Is this right? Notice it is -vmx not .vmx. When I double click or right click and slect open...nothing happens. I would have expected to be asked what I wanted to open the file with but I get nothing.
 

torin3

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Make sure to have your folders display known file extensions.

Here is my directory with the file in it on Vista 64bit. The file you need to edit is boxed in red.

vmx.png

CJ-5, VMWare player usually stick the files in C:\Users\(username)\Documents\Virtual Machines\Ubuntu 64-bit(or whatever you named the VM)
 

CJ-5

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Thanks Torin, I've found it.

Just to make sure I don't screw up the program, there are 2 places to change the number of vcpus. There is maxvcpus = "4" and numvcpus = "4". Don't I have to change them both from 4 to 8 not just the numvcpus from 4 to 8?

Also, if I add priority.ungrabbed="idle" to the list is there any special way to do it so it doesn't mess things up or do I just type it in like I've typed it above?
 

torin3

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Thanks Torin, I've found it.

Just to make sure I don't screw up the program, there are 2 places to change the number of vcpus. There is maxvcpus = "4" and numvcpus = "4". Don't I have to change them both from 4 to 8 not just the numvcpus from 4 to 8?

Also, if I add priority.ungrabbed="idle" to the list is there any special way to do it so it doesn't mess things up or do I just type it in like I've typed it above?

Yes, change them both to 8.

I added the priority.ugrabbed="idle" with notepad. It didn't seem to cause any problems.

Here is my file:

Code:
.encoding = "windows-1252"
config.version = "8"
virtualHW.version = "7"
vcpu.hotadd = "TRUE"
maxvcpus = "4"
scsi0.present = "TRUE"
scsi0.virtualDev = "lsilogic"
memsize = "2460"
scsi0:0.present = "TRUE"
scsi0:0.fileName = "Ubuntu 64-bit.vmdk"
ide0:0.present = "FALSE"
ide0:0.fileName = "auto detect"
ide0:0.deviceType = "cdrom-raw"
ide1:0.present = "TRUE"
ide1:0.fileName = "auto detect"
ide1:0.deviceType = "cdrom-raw"
floppy0.fileType = "device"
floppy0.fileName = "A:"
floppy0.clientDevice = "FALSE"
ethernet0.present = "TRUE"
ethernet0.connectionType = "nat"
ethernet0.virtualDev = "e1000"
ethernet0.wakeOnPcktRcv = "FALSE"
ethernet0.addressType = "generated"
usb.present = "TRUE"
ehci.present = "TRUE"
sound.present = "TRUE"
sound.fileName = "-1"
sound.autodetect = "TRUE"
pciBridge0.present = "TRUE"
pciBridge4.present = "TRUE"
pciBridge4.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
pciBridge4.functions = "8"
pciBridge5.present = "TRUE"
pciBridge5.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
pciBridge5.functions = "8"
pciBridge6.present = "TRUE"
pciBridge6.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
pciBridge6.functions = "8"
pciBridge7.present = "TRUE"
pciBridge7.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
pciBridge7.functions = "8"
vmci0.present = "TRUE"
roamingVM.exitBehavior = "go"
displayName = "Ubuntu 64-bit"
guestOS = "ubuntu-64"
priority.grabbed = "normal"
priority.ungrabbed = "idle"
nvram = "Ubuntu 64-bit.nvram"
virtualHW.productCompatibility = "hosted"
gui.exitOnCLIHLT = "FALSE"
extendedConfigFile = "Ubuntu 64-bit.vmxf"
ethernet0.generatedAddress = "00:0c:29:b8:82:2d"
tools.syncTime = "FALSE"
uuid.location = "56 4d 94 76 b0 07 9c 77-9b d4 cf 4d c6 b8 82 2d"
uuid.bios = "56 4d 94 76 b0 07 9c 77-9b d4 cf 4d c6 b8 82 2d"
cleanShutdown = "FALSE"
replay.supported = "FALSE"
unity.wasCapable = "TRUE"
replay.filename = ""
scsi0:0.redo = ""
pciBridge0.pciSlotNumber = "17"
pciBridge4.pciSlotNumber = "21"
pciBridge5.pciSlotNumber = "22"
pciBridge6.pciSlotNumber = "23"
pciBridge7.pciSlotNumber = "24"
scsi0.pciSlotNumber = "16"
usb.pciSlotNumber = "32"
ethernet0.pciSlotNumber = "33"
sound.pciSlotNumber = "34"
ehci.pciSlotNumber = "35"
vmci0.pciSlotNumber = "36"
vmotion.checkpointFBSize = "18874368"
ethernet0.generatedAddressOffset = "0"
vmci0.id = "-960986579"
floppy0.autodetect = "FALSE"
ide0:0.autodetect = "TRUE"
ide1:0.autodetect = "TRUE"
numvcpus = "4"
checkpoint.vmState = ""
floppy0.startConnected = "FALSE"

Note, this is a quadcore with no HT, so it only has 4 cores.
 

CJ-5

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Ok, great.:cool:

Nothing bad happened when I changed things. My regular smp folding didn't barf but continued from where it left off so I'm more comfortable changing things if I need to.

Even though I have 6 Gb of ram the VM wouldn't let me give it the 4300mb like ChasR suggested but it did let me do 4200mb with numvcpus = 8. I'll see if that works once I turn in my required regular smp wu and start the -bidadv.

Thanks!
 

pik4chu

Senior Yellow Forum Rat
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Location
Centennial, Colorado
Would I be correct in thinking that in Linux, that is running the A2 cores, that when I add the -bigadv switch it says invalid startup parameters it means I still have the wrong version of FAH?
 
OP
ChasR

ChasR

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2004
Location
Atlanta
That happened to me one time I clicked on it. But not always.

Gibberish may be an IE issue, it works in firefox at least it did for me.
 
Last edited:

Norcalsteve

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Location
Baker, FL
how do you install/upgrade to that Client.6.24R3 bin file thats downloaded into Ubuntu? just overwrite the fah6 thats downloaded to the old fah6 in the folder? or wget it?
 

Adak

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
It's a drop in binary, so just replace the old folding client. with the new one.

Doesn't matter how you get it there. I just d/l'ed it to my home folder, and dragged and dropped it into the right folder, from there, using the "Places" folder display.
 

CJ-5

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
I have the 6.24beta and when I try to copy and paste the downloaded 6.24R3 into the folding folder with it then smp will not restart.

How do I get smp to start with 6.24R3? Do I have to modify my ./fah start up file?

I got the impression from other posts that I wouldn't have to do anything but drop in 6.24R3 bigadv binery and add the -bigadv and -smp 8 flags, double click the start up ./fah and folding would start.
 

torin3

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Try:

Code:
chmod +x fah6

Or right click on the fah6 file, select "Properties", then click the permissions tab, then check the box that says allow executing the file as a program.
 
OP
ChasR

ChasR

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2004
Location
Atlanta
With the gui, navigate with places, right click on the file, properties, permissions, allow execution.
 

Norcalsteve

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Location
Baker, FL
Getting closer, now i get
Code:
[email protected]:~/foldingathome$ ./fah6 -smp 8 -verbosity 9 -bigadv

Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6 -license). Further 
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

8 cores detected


--- Opening Log file [January 19 18:24:45 UTC] 


# Linux SMP Console Edition ###################################################
###############################################################################

                       [email protected] Client Version 6.24R3

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /home/steven/foldingathome
Executable: ./fah6
Arguments: -smp 8 -verbosity 9 -bigadv 

[18:24:45] - Ask before connecting: No
[18:24:45] - User name: Norcalsteve (Team 32)
[18:24:45] - User ID: 4FEA9BFA71927512
[18:24:45] - Machine ID: 1
[18:24:45] 
[18:24:45] Loaded queue successfully.
[18:24:45] 
[18:24:45] - Autosending finished units... [January 19 18:24:45 UTC]
[18:24:45] + Processing work unit
[18:24:45] Trying to send all finished work units
[18:24:45] Core required: FahCore_a2.exe
[18:24:45] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[18:24:45] Core found.
[18:24:45] - Autosend completed
[18:24:45] Working on queue slot 02 [January 19 18:24:45 UTC]
[18:24:45] + Working ...
[18:24:45] - Calling './mpiexec -np 8 -host 127.0.0.1 ./FahCore_a2.exe -dir work/ -nice 19 -suffix 02 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 2496 -version 624'

[18:24:45] 
[18:24:45] *------------------------------*
[18:24:45] [email protected] Gromacs SMP Core
[18:24:45] Version 2.10 (Sun Aug 30 03:43:28 CEST 2009)
[18:24:45] 
[18:24:45] Preparing to commence simulation
[18:24:45] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[18:24:55] - Looking at optimizations...
[18:24:55] - Working with standard loops on this execution.
[18:24:55] - Files status OK
[18:24:55] Error: Missing work file=<>
[18:24:55] 
[18:24:55] Project: 0 (Run 0, Clone 0, Gen 0)
[18:24:55] 
[18:24:55] Error: Could not write local file.  Exiting.
[18:24:55] - Shutting down core