• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Black scratches in Dragothic

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

strangeBrew

Registered
Im new to this ocing thing and i am starting with the video card. So far I can only hit 304/567 without getting black scratches in the dragothic portion of 3dmark2001 se (13008). I noticed ppl are clocking much higher even as high as 315/690. Are these padded to waht will simply pass a single loop, regardless of the appearance, or clean runs? BTW I cant find too many others with the chaintech flavor of this card. (Admit, I bought it for the pretty gold heat sink+ fan.) Is there any thing else i could do to hit higher memory bandwith?
See sig for specs

...heard of ppl getting white dots, but not black scrathes.
Are these common?

Thx
Oh... and I am using det 40.72

Last edited:

o770

thats a nice card.
the correct procedure is first to find out whats the highest clock you get for core OR mem, then starting raising the other.
common problems are artifacts (like the ones youre probably getting), lockups and distorted colors in stuff like fog and light reflections.
so try setting core clock to default and check if mem is the cause (i beleive so).

i also beleive that many scores you see in gamershq (madonion) are non-stable scores, and many are due to extremely optimized driver settings like the LOD BIAS for instance.
once youve found out what are the highest clock you get for both core and mem, only thing to do in order to improve any of them is about better cooling.

o770