• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bloodrage just got in, trying to run 4.0ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Just got in my bloodrage gti and have dived right in to try and overclock my D0 steeping 920.

I have the load temps and idle temps for the processor, it just seems that it is running a bit hot.

cpuidle.png

cpuload.png

any suggestions?
 

baditude_df

Northern Senior
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
There is a chance that your chip is a lemon, but it's more likely it's just that insanely high Vcore you're using.

Please list your ambient temperature when you ask if your temperatures are too high. For all we know you like to keep your room at 30degC. We have no reference.

Here's a list of my BIOS settings for 4.6GHz on a 950 using the same board: http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/showthread.php?t=221939&page=5
Please note that my vcore set in bios for 4.6GHz HT, is less that what is being displayed in CPUZ in your screencap for 4GHz. That's not really right.

Seeing as my 950 and 920 D0's scaled almost identically up to and past 4.0GHz, I'm going to go ahead and assume what you have is very similar to what I had. I am therefore going to say you should expect to run that overclock at ~1.25ish Vcore, keeping in mind that as always not all chips and or boards are exactly the same and therefore YMMV a bit.

Here's another thread that shows temperatures using that board and a Megahalems with single 38mm fan: http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=622824
I was seeing high 60s, low 70s at load @ 4GHz and ~1.25Vcore.
 
Last edited:

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Are you sure that D0 needs 1.4V+ to be stable at 4.0GHz? Use this template for the Bloodrage to post all of your current settings (just disregard the settings in the template, and replace w/ your own)...

Code:
CPU Features

PPM : Enabled
EIST : Enabled
CxE : Disabled
Execute Disable Bit : Disabled
Virtualization : Disabled
Hyper Threading : Enabled
Active Processor Cores : All

Memory Controller Settings

IMC Configuration : Enabled
Channel Congifuration : Independent
Channel Interleaving : 6 way
Rank Interleaving : 4 way

Memory Timings

Extreme Memory Profile XMP : Disabled
Memory Profile Select : Auto
DRAM Timing Control : By SPD
tCL (CAS Latency) :
tRCG (RAS to CAS Delay) :
tRP (RAS Precharge) :
tRAS (Precharge Delay) :
CR (Command Rate) :
tRFC (Refresh Cycle Time) :
tWR (Write Recovery Time) :
tWTR (Write to Read Delay) :
tRRD (RAS to RAS Delay) :
tRTP (Read to Precharge) :

CPU Voltages

CPU Core Voltage : +110mv
CPU Target Core Voltage : 1.28500 Actual is 1.36v
CPU Vdroop Compensation : Enabled
CPU VTT (UnCore) Voltage : +180mv Actual is 1.31v
1.8 PPL Voltage Setting : 1.8v
CPU Clock Amplitude Ctrl : 0.800v

Memory Voltages

DRAM Voltage : 1.65v Actual is 1.66v
DIMM1 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM1 Vref DQ (Data) : .496
DIMM2 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM2 Vref DQ (Data) : .500
DIMM3 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM3 Vref DQ (Data) : .500

Chipset Voltages

X58 IOH Core Voltage : 1.30v
X58 IOH VCCA 1.1V : 1.307v
X58 IOH VCCA 1.5V : 1.506v
ICH10 SB Voltage : 1.506v

CPU Turbo : Enabled
System Turbo : Enabled
Clock Speed Control Center
CPU Bclock (FSB) : 200
QPI Link Fast Mode : Enabled
QPI Multiplier : x18
QPI Target Speed : 3605Mhz
CPU Core Multiplier : x19
CPU Core Target Speed : 3806Mhz
CPU Uncore Multiplier : x16
CPU Uncore Target Speed : 3208Mhz
Memory Bus Multiplier : x8
Memory Bus Target Speed : 1604Mhz
CPU Clock Skew : 0ps
IOH Clock Skew : 0ps
 
OP
C

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
alright been trying to get things working and finally time for some sleep. This is my first OC so everything seems to take awhile to do. Would like to maybe enable turbo mode, since I tried it earlier and for some reason my temps went down to around 34 average, might of been a fluke, before my comp crashed. Was also running at 4.2.

Also have no idea what I am going to do for settings for my ram. I know people have gotten cas6 at 1600 with this set of ram.

Going to hit this project again tomorrow here is the update.

cpuidle-1.png

cpuload-1.png

any input on ways to make this run faster and more stable? or am I at my limits as it is

and ambient temp is around 20 degrees
 
Last edited:
OP
C

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
P09

PPM : Disabled
EIST : Disabled
CxE : Disabled
Execute Disable Bit : Enabled
Virtualization : Disabled
Hyper Threading : Enabled
Active Processor Cores : All

Memory Controller Settings

IMC Configuration : Enabled
Channel Congifuration : Independent
Channel Interleaving : 6 way
Rank Interleaving : 4 way

Memory Timings

Extreme Memory Profile XMP : Disabled
Memory Profile Select : Auto
DRAM Timing Control : By SPD
tCL (CAS Latency) :8
tRCG (RAS to CAS Delay) :8
tRP (RAS Precharge) :8
tRAS (Precharge Delay) :19
CR (Command Rate) :1
tRFC (Refresh Cycle Time) :59
tWR (Write Recovery Time) :8
tWTR (Write to Read Delay) :14
tRRD (RAS to RAS Delay) :4
tRTP (Read to Precharge) :4

CPU Voltages

CPU Core Voltage : +30mv
CPU Target Core Voltage : 1.31125
CPU Vdroop Compensation : Disabled
CPU VTT (UnCore) Voltage : +40mv
1.8 PPL Voltage Setting : 1.8v
CPU Clock Amplitude Ctrl : 0.800v

Memory Voltages

DRAM Voltage : 1.65v Actual is 1.63v
DIMM1 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM1 Vref DQ (Data) : .500
DIMM2 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM2 Vref DQ (Data) : .500
DIMM3 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM3 Vref DQ (Data) : .500

Chipset Voltages

X58 IOH Core Voltage : 1.10v
X58 IOH VCCA 1.1V : 1.108v
X58 IOH VCCA 1.5V : 1.506v
ICH10 SB Voltage : 1.506v

CPU Turbo : Enabled
System Turbo : Enabled
Clock Speed Control Center
CPU Bclock (FSB) : 200
QPI Link Fast Mode : Enabled
QPI Multiplier : auto
QPI Target Speed : 3605Mhz
CPU Core Multiplier : x20
CPU Core Target Speed : 4006Mhz
CPU Uncore Multiplier : auto
CPU Uncore Target Speed : 3208Mhz
Memory Bus Multiplier : auto
Memory Bus Target Speed : 1604Mhz
CPU Clock Skew : 0ps
IOH Clock Skew : 0ps
 

baditude_df

Northern Senior
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Looks like you've brought things down to a very good level. Those load temperatures are impressive, and no need to decrease voltage any further unless you really want to and or know it will run the system stable.
If you want to tweak a little further, I've made some notes in red to try, based on my experience with that setup.

P09

PPM : Disabled
EIST : Disabled
CxE : Disabled
Execute Disable Bit : Enabled
Virtualization : Disabled
Hyper Threading : Enabled
Active Processor Cores : All

Memory Controller Settings

IMC Configuration : Enabled
Channel Congifuration : Independent
Channel Interleaving : 6 way
Rank Interleaving : 4 way

Memory Timings

Extreme Memory Profile XMP : Disabled
Memory Profile Select : Auto
DRAM Timing Control : By SPD
tCL (CAS Latency) :8
tRCG (RAS to CAS Delay) :8
tRP (RAS Precharge) :8
tRAS (Precharge Delay) :21-24ish
CR (Command Rate) :2T for now until you have the rest of your system overclock sorted. 1T is always the last thing I do in a full system overclock, because it can really cause instability at times using stock vdimm and VTT.
tRFC (Refresh Cycle Time) : Default or I use 92ish
tWR (Write Recovery Time) :8
tWTR (Write to Read Delay) :14
tRRD (RAS to RAS Delay) :4
tRTP (Read to Precharge) :4

CPU Voltages

CPU Core Voltage : +30mv Could probably come down to ~1.25-1.275v(displayed in CPUz) for a 24/7 stable 4GHz.
CPU Target Core Voltage : 1.31125 1.2800-1.3000v
CPU Vdroop Compensation : Enabled Doesn't hurt. Try it. I've clocked far past 4Ghz both enabled and disabled. Enabled tends to hold a more stable clock.
CPU VTT (UnCore) Voltage : Set to get ~1.3v actual, or keep that .5V difference with Vdimm. My setup liked a .35v difference at or past 4GHz.
1.8 PPL Voltage Setting : 1.8v
CPU Clock Amplitude Ctrl : 0.800v

Memory Voltages

DRAM Voltage : 1.65v Actual is 1.63v (Set to get actual to 1.65 ot 1.66)
DIMM1 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM1 Vref DQ (Data) : .500
DIMM2 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM2 Vref DQ (Data) : .500
DIMM3 Vref CA (Addresses) : .500
DIMM3 Vref DQ (Data) : .500

Chipset Voltages

X58 IOH Core Voltage : 1.30v Things just tend to run smoother for me when increased a notch or two. Not mandatory, but seems to help keep OC's trouble free.
X58 IOH VCCA 1.1V : 1.108v Ditto
X58 IOH VCCA 1.5V : 1.506v Ditto
ICH10 SB Voltage : 1.506v Ditto

CPU Turbo : Disable No need to enable for 4GHz.
System Turbo : Enabled
Clock Speed Control Center
CPU Bclock (FSB) : 200
QPI Link Fast Mode : Enabled
QPI Multiplier : auto
QPI Target Speed : 3605Mhz
CPU Core Multiplier : x20
CPU Core Target Speed : 4006Mhz
CPU Uncore Multiplier : auto
CPU Uncore Target Speed : 3208Mhz
Memory Bus Multiplier : auto
Memory Bus Target Speed : 1604Mhz
CPU Clock Skew : 0ps
IOH Clock Skew : 0ps
PCIe Frequency: New in P09. Default or try 102-105MHz when experiencing instability past 4GHz.
 
Last edited:

baditude_df

Northern Senior
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
You must be ~18-20deg Ambient with idle temperatures like that. Not that idle temperatures mean too terribly much, but mine have always sat 39-41deg at 20-22deg ambient. That's with a C0 920, D0 920 and D0 950. Your load temperatures are nice and low as well.
1.264v in CPUz is where I sit for 24/7 Rosetta Crunching on my i7's. It has always held a stable overclock with 0 crashes.
I would stay where you are, as you seem to have found a real sweetspot. Assuming that you are in fact stable. Have you run Prime overnight? LinPac? etc?

Rebooted this morning and my actual cpu voltage dropped a bit...is that normal?
No, not unless you changed something in BIOS from then till now.
 
OP
C

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Going to today, ran it for an hour last night but my power keeps cutting out in my new apartment and is really starting to get annoying. Electrician was supposed to be here two weeks ago to replace the breaker
 
OP
C

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Finally got some steady power into my room and trying to get a 24 bench. Currently I keep getting an error on 1 or two workers about an hour and a half in and don't know what the best way to fix it is. Did some research and people have been saying it could be due to ram settings?

cpuload-2.png

This is the error given and I also don't know where the txt file referenced is located

Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file

also noticed a 20 degree difference in temperatures between two of the cores, is this just because the load on one is now lower then the other?
 

baditude_df

Northern Senior
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
also noticed a 20 degree difference in temperatures between two of the cores, is this just because the load on one is now lower then the other?

yep.

Currently I keep getting an error on 1 or two workers about an hour and a half in and don't know what the best way to fix it is.

Add a bit more vcore and re-test. If that doesn't help then it's likely your VTT, Vdimm or timings.

Try the settings I gave you. VTT at ~1.3v and VDimm at 1.65v in BIOS. Make sure your timings are slacked a bit(Say 8-8-8-24 for 800MHzDRAM) and that you have switched from 1T to 2T. Once you are stable, go ahead and try to tighten the timings.
 
OP
C

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
haven't been able to play with things for awhile but have started testing my oc out and I can run small fft fine but both blend and large fft fail within minutes...

what is likely the culprit for this?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Wow crazy bclk on that thing. A coupel reviews I read on that said they couldnt get past 157bclk!

haven't been able to play with things for awhile but have started testing my oc out and I can run small fft fine but both blend and large fft fail within minutes...

what is likely the culprit for this?
Try running memtest at those speeds and see if its your memory causing your grief.
 
OP
C

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
huh been running with 200 bclk since I got the board. Was the first setting I changed :) Where were you reading that they were only getting 157bclk? Have really enjoyed the board so far just this is my first OC and I don't know exactly what I am doing.

I have a feeling it may be RAM related but I have no idea one way or the other
 

baditude_df

Northern Senior
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
That board easilly runs 200Bclock out of the box regardless of BIOS. So should any other X58 Board that's worth a damn.
 
OP
C

crazyman2501

Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Location
Minneapolis, MN
I am running fine at 200Bclock I think the problem is my ram. loosened my timings a bit the ram is rated for 2000mhz at 9-9-9-24 at 1.6v. Currently running at 9-9-9-24 1600mhz at 1.6v

I am also getting memtest errors. :(
 

baditude_df

Northern Senior
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
If your Vdimm is 1.6v, then what is your VTT currently set at?
I don't care what voltage GSkill says that RAM should run 2000MHz at, 1.6v is pretty damn low and may be pushing it. You will likely need to bump it up a tad, and possibly the IMC voltage as well.

If you're still getting errors running sub spec frequency and slack timings, then try upping the vdimm to 1.65v/VTT of 1.3v and try memtest again. Like I said b4, the .35v gap between Vdimm and VTT worked best for me with that same setup.