• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Blowing up my power supply

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Trainwreck

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
I have an amptron mobo with a duron :as soon as I plug in a power supply the power supply burns up . what could cause this the mobo and cpu were covered in soot from a oil burner flue gone haywire and dumping into the basement. I cleaned the mobo and plugged in another only to have that one blow as well
 

Lt. Max

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2002
Location
Seattle, but im Estonian
i would drenc the thing in oil and get a little battery to create a spark.
thats only me , sadistic me.

otherwise i dunno why u burning PSU's , r u sure the components work? mab some soot is shorting something.
 
OP
Trainwreck

Trainwreck

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
I cleaned it with air and I wouldn't think soot would be conductive I am also gunshy I don't want to blow another PS without some input .Besides lighter fluid is more fun maybe with a hobby rocket solid fuel igniter.!!!! NEVER SAY DIE help
 

AntiHeiss

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Texas
Just make sure you clean it very very well, and unplug any other components you have connected to the motherboard. If it starts up with just the motherboard connected then attach a hard drive or something and see if it starts up. Keep doing that...you may have a fried component in there and it is shorting the PSU.
 
OP
Trainwreck

Trainwreck

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
I unplugged everything except the memory, cpu and hsf and it blew the second PS. I than checked the memory and hd ,floppy cd and cdrw with my pII 350 RIG and everything was ok Do you thing the soot could in someway be conductive I don't even power the mobo up and it blows the PS one blow up was a resistor the other was a chip burned a hole right in it. Clean it with what electric cleaner or put it in the dish washer .
 

ucfswimmer

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Location
Orlando, FL
check the atx power connector that plugs into the mobo..the slot itself..did you clean that out?

if so i'd just douse the mobo in alcohol and hopefully youll get rid of whatever dirt is left...99% isopropyl alcohol if you can get it..if not ead on over to walgreens for some 91% IA..thatll do the job of cleaning..if it blows a 3rd psu, then just get rid of the mobo.

~jeff~
 
OP
Trainwreck

Trainwreck

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
if it blows a third it off to the lighter fluid moon. the mobo isn't worth three power supplies. hey ucfswimmer how's mickey
 

ucfswimmer

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Location
Orlando, FL
lol, people think that because i live in orlando i go to dosney every weekend...what a stereotype...

I go every other weekend :)
 
OP
Trainwreck

Trainwreck

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
LOL I live in NY and I go twice a year I got a five year old if ya know what I mean . No one else has any ideas with this MoBo huh?


hey, I just noticed the small print LMAO.
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Don't blow PSU after PSU. It must be a faulty mobo, bring it to a shop let them blow theirs... Your killing your money! It has to be a faulty mobo.
 
OP
Trainwreck

Trainwreck

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
yodums your running out of star room it's looking like a galaxy





found 99% iso alcohol in a aerosol spray can .I sprayed the heck out of the mobo and let it dry, plugged it in and all is well ,revived duron and amptron system thanks for the help
 
Last edited: