• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Blue Screen of Death...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smdtherock

Registered
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Location
Tewksbury, MA
Ok I don't know if this is where I am suppose to post this(sorry if it's not)

here's my problem...



I had my computer unplugged for about a month, when I plugged it in for the 1st time yesterday it started up fine, When i got to the logon screen i forgot my password so when i tried 5 diff passwords it froze up and I restarted it...when I restarted it i got the blue screen of death saying BAD_POOL_CALLER

i tried seeing if some hardware went bad so I took different things out like a stick of memory...each one one at a time my cd-rw drive....


Now when i go to re-install windows i even get the blue screen of death...I really need to get on my computer cuz I have all my resume's on it...thnx sooo much for any help


Sean A.K.A. Smdtherock
 

I.M.O.G.

Glorious Leader
Joined
Nov 12, 2002
Location
Rootstown, OH
Do you always get the same blue screen error?

It would be a good idea to run a disc fitness utility, to see if your drive is going bad.
 

Drec

Member
Joined
May 23, 2004
run the windows repair utility off your windows disc,

first see if itll boot in safe mode which it should and you can get your stuff. hold f8 on bootup. and if you dont know your password you should be able to log in as administrator, is it xp?
 
OP
S

smdtherock

Registered
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Location
Tewksbury, MA
nope i go blue screen in Safemode and in windows repair it seems to freeze...


like it says hit the # to select what windows to repair....I hit 1 and it just sits there...is that how its suppose to work?


I read that the error I am getting is a driver error?

but i dunno
 

Drec

Member
Joined
May 23, 2004
sonds like your windows is pretty messed up, i think the only way to fix it is going to be a reformat and complete reinstall, pop that hard drive in another computer, so that windows doesnt boot off that drive and get the important files you need.

unless maybe someone else has some better advice, but your posting here so im guessing you got another computer :p
 

MadSkillzMan

Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Location
Cleveland OHIO
Hah, uhh if u have someone with DSL or obviously another computer since u posted this....download knoppix. U can then get your files onto disk and even ZIP drives or other hard drives (it throws fits writitng to hard drives sometimes)

Then reformat. It does sound like u have a hard drive issue. Knoppix has saved me MANY times.
 
OP
S

smdtherock

Registered
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Location
Tewksbury, MA
haha ok...so I actually have 2 partitions and I don't really mind re-installing becuz everything i want is on the other partition....but now I have another problem....


I was in cmos messing around and i changed my setting and when i restarted my monitor won''t turn on now....is there anyway to back track to my previous settings?