• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a New Box - Right or Wrong Components???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nightmare

Registered
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
Hello everyone. I have not built a system in over 10 years so I might as well call this a new experience as things have changed so much in the entire industry. Anyways, I need to build a new system for my personal use that will mainly be used for 3d CAD, engineering programs, and the like. It will also be my personal computer that I hope to ply some games on so the components I have selected are somewhat high end but not top tier. Here is a list of the components that I am going to utilize and I would appreciate any feedback, especially if there is conflicts within the components, so that I may return them prior to opening the boxes so that I can get a full refund for them.

Here goes:

Case - Thermaltake Level 10 GT, White.

PSU: Choice of 1 of the below, both fully modular.
Corsair AX860 860Watt 80+ Platinum 25A, 25A, 71A, .3A, 3A, 92% EE
Cooler Master V750 750Watt 80+ Gold 25A, 22A, 62A, .3A, 2.5A, 92% EE

MOBO: ASRock X370 Taichi AM4 90-MXB500-A0UAYZ (however the board sticker says 80-MXB500-A1A05 YN) This has me concerned that the part number on the box does not match the part number on the board.

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.6GHz YD180XBCM88AE

CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4

Memory: Choice of 1 of the below...
Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2A2400C14 DDR4 2400 (PC19200) 2X16GB 14-16-16-31 Rev 5.30 Unknown Die or Rank/Sided
G. Skill Ripjaws V Series F4-3466C16D-16GVK DDR4 3466 (PC27700) 2X8GB 16-18-18-38 Samsung B-Die Single Rank Single Sided
G. Skill Flash X Series F4-3200C14D-16GFX DDR4 3200 (PC25600) 2X8GB 14-14-14-34 Samsung B-Die Single Rank Single Sided

SSD NVMe M.2 PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Choice of 1 of the below:
Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB MZ-V6E500BW
Corsair MP500 M.2 480GB CSSD-F480GBMP500

SSD SATA III 6Gb/s (if needed or justifiable):
WD Blue WDS500G2B0A-00SM50 500GB SATA 3 6Gb/s 3D NAND

HDD SATA III 6Gb/s:
Western Digital Black WD1003FZEX 1TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache

Graphic Card Choice of 1 of the below:
MSI GeForce GTX 1070Ti DX12 GTX Gaming 8G 8GB 256 bit GDDR5 1607MHz/1683MHz 2432 CUDA PCIe 3.0X16 HDCP Ready ($899.99)
2X MSI GeForce GTX 1070 DX12 GTX Gaming 8G 8GB 256 bit GDDR5 1531MHz/1721MHz 1920 CUDA PCIe 3.0X16 in SLI Mode ($613.20 ea) (Backorder) w/MSI 2 Way SLI HB Bridge M

Monitor: ACER Predator XB271HK 3840X2160 4ms Gaming Monitor 27" NVidia G Sync UHD 4K/2K IPS LED Backlit

Blue Ray Burner LG WH14NS40 14X Disk Re-Writer

Microsoft Windows 10 Home (OEM) 64 bit, or Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, or Microsoft Windows 7 Pro 64 bit.

Other minor peripherals like mouse, keyboard, speakers, etc etc etc

Legitimate comments and input requested.
 

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
1080TI.
drop the 960 evo, it will only help for boot time and bling factor, or get the 960pro.
no 1070x2, sli is dying, let's let it.
win7 pro 64 bit and kill all of it's phone home stuff with anti beacon.
 
OP
N

Nightmare

Registered
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
Thanks for the input. Not going to the 1080TI as it is $400 more for the upgrade for just a little more ability. yes, it has DDR5X memory but $1200 for a graphics card that should be $600 that was driven up by mining is not in my cup of tea. It is bad enough that it is costing me $900 for the MSI 1700TI at this time, a card that should not be more than $500.

I do not understand the NVMe issue. You say drop it one sec then say get the 960 Pro. Granted it has NVMe 1.2 but it cost $70 more and there is little gain for it. So am I to drop the NVMe drive completly because it is "bling" like the 1800TI is or keep it for the 960 Pro where IOPS (the important part from what I understand) is identical.

Agree that SLI is dying but put it in just to see others opinions.

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - I like but do not understand what the "phone home stuff" is????
 

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
the 960 evo is not for pro use, extended writes and such it is much less than the 960 pro.

then just a 1080.
windows put all the stuff that spys on you in win10 into win 7, they now send all kinds of data back to Microsoft, anti beacon will turn a lot of that off.
I feel that win 7 is a much better and more stable os than win 10.
all of my rigs are dual boot, Linux/windows.
on my win10/Linux rigs, windows is not allowing shared hard drives with Linux some how. when I try to mount a shared drive it will not mount it. it jut says can't mount drive x because of an unclean windows shutdown.
 
OP
N

Nightmare

Registered
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
Sorry, I still see nothing that justifies an extra $500 for the 1800 or 1800TI. Yes the GDDR5X memory, yes the 11GB of memory vs the 8GB on the 1700TI and yes the 352 vs the 256 bit rate. But essentially the clock speeds are the same. So I must be missing something that would justify the extra $500 in coin for the 1800TI vs the 1700TI card. What games require the 1800TI over the 1700TI level of graphics card duty?

OK on the Win 7 Pro. I will keep that option open as well as the 1080TI issue pending further clarification.
 
Last edited:

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
as I remember, I tried 2560x1440x2 monitors @ 120 refresh with a single 1080 and it was a fail, this is near 4K resolusion.
looking at your monitor specs last night it's 60 refresh, looking at some reviews the 1070TI performs right with the 1080 so it should work out.
bit rate, weather it has gddr5x and what ever, bha, resolution, refresh rate and card performance is what seems to count.
don't get too hung up on clock speeds within the same card families.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Your biggest issue will be gaming at 4k with a 1070ti. IQ sacrifices will have to be made on many titles to run 60 fps. Is $500 worth it??? That depends on if you want to play games well with high settings at 4k. Sadly, the market is what it is there at this time.

As far as w10 vs w7... dont let the tinfoil hat wearing contingent scare ya. If you are really concerned, there are ways around its telemetry
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
These guys are right about the card with that monitor. 1080Ti is the way to go if you're going 4K, there's a lot more to a card than speed. Here's a chart comparing the 10xx series. Notice the much higher cuda count that's a big difference in performance between a 1080 and a 1080Ti on average in game about 25-30%. https://www.gamersnexus.net/news-pc/2820-official-nvidia-gtx-1080-ti-specs-announced
Evga has good prices for cards Ti here is about $850 https://www.evga.com/products/produ...=GeForce+10+Series+Family&chipset=GTX+1080+Ti
I wouldn't worry too much about the difference between the 960 Pro and Evo. They're both PCIe based and both fast enough. The Pro should give a bit better performance and longevity but the difference won't be that noticeable.
As for the ram choice number 2 or 3 will suit Ryzen better. Samsung "B" die all the way. It'll just save you some headaches and be a lot easier to work with.
 

notarat

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Sounds like you received a very early revision of the motherboard. (hence the numbering difference)

You may be okay with a BIOS Upgrade but, personally, I'd ask it be replaced with what you ordered. I'm picky that way.

If you're staying with the TaiChi get the Flare X memory. Don't even consider anything else.
 

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
"dont let the tinfoil hat wearing contingent scare ya."
and just for your information the world IS flat, just ask Admiral Baird.

what I find unstable with win10 is not that the system crashes it's the updates and how Microsoft just removes a piece of software here and there because with the last updates it's no longer compatible.
I don't know if it's drivers or what but I went quickly back to win7 from win10 early on because of this and having to check and see if Microsoft updated my drivers.
in rendering in blender win10 is now up to %10 slower than the exact same rig with win7, once again I don't know if it's drivers or windows, I know 6 seconds per frame with a 1 minute render time per frame doesn't sound like much to you, but over 3000-6000 frames, it really adds up.
 
OP
N

Nightmare

Registered
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
OK, I decided to up to the 1080TI card. Found one that was a little more palatable then the $500 uptick. It was only $400 of an uptick.

Will also upgrade to the 960PRO

MOBO is gong back for a new one. This being a brand new board, the part numbers should match so I think that somehow the boards got switched out. But that does not seem accurate either as the serial numbers match. Will not take a chance on a brand new MOBO that I paid some good money for.

Windows is still a toss up. I do not like what I am seeing on Win 10 about the telemetry. Yes you can disable some of it but you can not disable all of it. Microsoft has no business nosing around inside my computer. I did not rent an OS when I paid money for it, I bought it so I expect to have 100% control over it at all times meaning I get to decide what updates I want. I am still doing some research on this though.
 

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
they have put the same telemetry in 7 as they have in win10, you use spybot anti beacon in both operating systems to reduce it.
there are scripts you can run in powershell in win10 to help clean it up some also.
I don't want to scare you out of win10, we will all wind up there in the long run anyway, I'm just not real happy with it and the way I think computing is going and that's computing as a service.
 
OP
N

Nightmare

Registered
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
Another question. I noticed that some people are using a 4K HDTV as a monitor for 4K. These seem to be substantially less dollar wise than a monitor. So what is the story on this? Is it feasible to use a 4K HDTV as a monitor? I have seen in some signatures that some are using this specific HDTV, the 43" LG 4K 60Hz TV as seen here: http://www.lg.com/us/tvs/lg-43UJ6300-4k-uhd-tv and I assume that there are other models as well that can fit the build (at least I think that these can act as monitors).

I mean right now, I am looking at $700 for my 4K ACER UHD Monitor.

So what is the story on using a UHD 4K HDTV as a monitor?

Thanks again.