• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a new P4 System - any advice?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

unixadm

Hey guys,

I've been building systems for many years. I upgrade my systems a couple of times a year or so. Right now I just ordered these parts:

Antec Performance Plus 1080B Case w/ 430watt Antec Power Supply
Gigabyte 8IRXP Socket-478 Motherboard
Pentium IV 1.8A Retail
Thermaltake Volcano 7+ Heatsink
2 x 256 PC-2700 Kingmax DDR Ram

In addition to that I'll be using my current:

Hercules Game Theater XP
Logitech Z560 4.1 Speakers
Gainward Geforce3 Ti200 (230/540)
Western Digital 100gb 7200rpm HD
Toshiba 16x DVD-Rom (Black)
24x10x40 Liteon CD-RW
22" Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 200 Monitor

I'm replacing my aging Abit KG7-RAID, Athlon MP 1.2 (@ 1.47ghz) system. Is there anything I should be aware of other than the reboot issue with this board? I will be running the latest F6 bios. I'll also be running WinXP Pro. Of course I plan on overclocking and I'm hoping for 2.4-2.6Ghz. Any tips or tricks would be appreciated. I'm not a newbie to this.. but I figured it never hurts to seek a little advice from the pro's. I get all my stuff tomorrow (darn UPS wouldn't leave it today), so I'm getting a little excited. :)

Yeah I saw that as well. Most liked the cooling performance, but the mounting on the P4 sometimes didn't work out quite right. I already noted the forum posts of the little plastic heatsink bracket holddowns on some motherboards. I'm not sure if the 8IRXP has them or not, but if so I'll grind them down or something. I'm pretty mechanically inclined so I should be able to work out any kinks in the mounting. I also picked up some AS3 for the install. I will definately post my results. I'm eager to see how it does overclocking wise. Thanks for the info.