• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

building a phase change setup

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TerroH8er

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Hey..
before I get flamed, yes, I read the article on the main page, and yes I searched.

anyway, right now I'm throwing around the idea of building a phase change system. right now, $600 for a prometeia is pretty expensive for me. How much does it cost to build one? I always see air conditioners, freezers, etc in the classifieds section for real cheap, I could just use a compressor from one of those right?

at first I thought of spending $250 on a watercooled rig, then I'm like.. well if I could build a phase change system for a few bucks more and get like 40-50 degree temp differences, I'd definately do it.

i feel that I am up to the task, as i'm pretty patient and pretty smart for a 14 year old (especially when it comes to this kind of stuff).. would this be worth it for me?

thanks,
Terro
 

ookabooka

Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Location
[email protected] localhost.localdomain
hmmm. . . well im building one too. . . Basically you could just get an a/c unit or something and put the evaporator coils in your resevoir (sp?) and have antifreeze running through a waterblock. I am gonna have a setup like this but with a peltier chip. It is much easier to just convert the old system into somwething like this than to cut it apart, rebuild it, and then re fill it with refridgerant.
 

aenigma

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Yep you can use compressors from all of that, but don't use a minifridge compressor.They are weak little things.

If you already have the tools, such as a vacuum pump, and gauges, then your set.You can build one cheap if you already have that stuff.

If not, then it can get a bit spendy.I think you can get gauges for about 25-50 and you could always make your own vacuum pump out of an old compressor.Or do what Warlord is doing and install valves so you can use the same compressor as a vacuum pump....
 
OP
TerroH8er

TerroH8er

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
hey guys, thanks!! you've been a lot of help

also, i didn't get a $$$ on how much it would be..

i might be able to rent some of that stuff, cause theres a place by me that rents hardware.

thanks
Terro
 

Warlord2

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
Bakersfield,CA
well you can only really rent the vac pump if they have one. Everything else you need on the unit. As far as money goes it depends on how cheap you get the compressor. The compressor is prolly the most expensive componit, everything else you can virtualy make out of copper tubing (evap, condensor). Also, you will need a mapp/propane blow torch that is capable of brazing along with lots of copper brazing rods. Im not using gauges right now so you dont NEED them, there just nice to have;) . Oh yeah like aenigma was saying, instead of renting/buying a vacuum pump you can stick a shut off valve right after the high Schrader valve, all you do is have to close the valve and open the high side Schrader valve and you will create a vacuum.

if you catch me when my computer is on you can d/l the pic of my valve here
 

johnnyw

Member
Joined
May 26, 2002
Location
Buenos Aires , Argentina
vaccump pump? sorry to tell you but I do not understand what this is ( English is my foregin language :-O ). I know that a vaccum like the one used to clean suck and what does have a pump to do with a vaccum.
Can someone post a pic?
Sorry for my ignorance
 

aenigma

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
A vacuum pump is to remove all air in the system, and to dehydrate the system.Water boils at 70f in 29 inches of vacuum.
 

Warlord2

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
Bakersfield,CA
well moister and freon = BAD so that is really the only economical way of boiling off of all moister completely (also can do what Im going to do and just stick a nice big propane heater by the system to kill any moister). It will also help your system vacuum go down and that will decrease your temps I believe.
 

aenigma

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Yeah too much moisture can cause a host of things, main things are capillary blockage, creating an acid, and possibly eating away at the windings.

Water boils at 70f, so when you pull it to a 29" vacuum all the water boils, and therefore you dehydrate the system.